Go to main content
Appointments to Standing Committee on Company Law Reform
     The Financial Secretary has appointed three new members, Mr Jack Chan Hoi, Ms Wendy Kam Mei-ha and Mr Ernest Lee Chun-ho, to the Standing Committee on Company Law Reform (SCCLR). Five incumbent members, namely Mr Paul Chow Koon-ying, Ms Julianne Pearl Doe, Ms Sabrina Ho Shuk-ying, Mr Jason Karas, and Ms Tiffany Wong Wing-sze, have been reappointed.
     The appointments and reappointments are for a term of two years starting from February 1, 2024.
     The Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Mr Christopher Hui, said today (January 31), "With the professional knowledge of its members, the SCCLR has provided valuable advice on modernising our company law to strengthen Hong Kong's status as an international commercial and financial centre."
     He added, "We are grateful to the outgoing members, Mr Albert Ng Kong-ping, Mr Joe Wan Pui-lun, Ms Rachel Lam Yan-kay, SC and Ms Fion Ng Siu-mui, for their valuable contributions to the SCCLR."
     The SCCLR was set up in 1984. It advises the Financial Secretary on amendments to the Companies Ordinance and the Companies (Winding Up and Miscellaneous Provisions) Ordinance, as well as amendments to the Securities and Futures Ordinance on matters relating to corporate governance and shareholders' protection, as and when necessary.
     As from February 1, 2024, the membership list of the SCCLR will be as follows:
Mr Johnny Mok Shiu-luen, SC (Chairman)
Mr Jack Chan Hoi
Ms Ivy Cheung Wing-han
Mr Paul Chow Koon-ying
Ms Christine Chung Wai-yin
Ms Julianne Pearl Doe
Mr Dennis Ho Chiu-ping
Ms Sabrina Ho Shuk-ying
Ms Wendy Kam Mei-ha
Mr Geoffrey Edward Kao
Mr Jason Karas
Mr Ernest Lee Chun-ho
Mr Low Chee-keong
Mr David John Simmonds
Ms Jacqueline Walsh
Ms Tiffany Wong Wing-sze
Ex-officio members
Ms Katherine Ng Kit-shuen
Head of Listing
Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited
Mr Stefan Gannon
Special Adviser to Chief Executive
Hong Kong Monetary Authority
Ms Annabel Lee Tung-mei
Deputy Chief Counsel, Legal Services Division
Securities and Futures Commission
Registrar of Companies
Official Receiver
Deputy Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury (Financial Services)
Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau
Senior Assistant Law Officer (Civil Law)
Department of Justice
Ends/Wednesday, January 31, 2024
Issued at HKT 17:00
Today's Press Releases