Go to main content
Task Force on Professional Development of Teachers convenes first meeting
     The Task Force on Professional Development of Teachers convened its first meeting today (November 24) to discuss its terms of reference and work plan.

     The terms of reference of the Task Force are as follows:

     To establish a platform to discuss and gauge professional views on enhancing and promoting professional development of teachers, and to make recommendations to the Secretary for Education on related issues. The following areas will be covered:

1. feasible options of establishing a professional ladder for teachers, which includes recognition of teachers' expertise in various areas of teaching and learning (such as in specific subjects, guidance, teaching Chinese as a second language and supporting students with special educational needs);

2. the ranking arrangement of school management of primary, secondary and special schools; and

3. the timetable for an all-graduate teaching force.

     The Task Force will hold further meetings in the coming months to discuss specific issues regarding professional development of teachers. It will arrange focus group meetings with various stakeholders including school sponsoring bodies and representatives from primary, secondary and special schools as well as teacher groups and parent groups to listen to their views. Extensive consultation on preliminary recommendations to be drawn up will also be conducted. The Task Force aims to complete its work by the end of 2018.

     The Task Force was established by the Secretary for Education on November 24, 2017, following the relevant announcement in the Chief Executive's 2017 Policy Address. The membership is as follows:

Dr Carrie Willis

Non-official members
Mr Chau Hau-fung
Ms Addy Cheung Wai-yee
Mr Cheung Yui-fai
Mr Tony Choi Siu-chow
Ms Kwan Wai-fong
Mr Lai Kam-tong
Ms Lam Pik-chu
Mr Lau Chi-yuen
Professor John Lee Chi-kin
Ms Leung Kin-yi
Professor Alvin Leung Seung-ming
Ms Denise Ng Tan
Mr Morry Pang Cheong-kau
Mr So Ping-fai
Sister Cecilia Wong Yeuk-han
Ms Alice Yan Kin-foon
Mr Yu Chi-yin

Official member
Secretary for Education or his representative
Ends/Friday, November 24, 2017
Issued at HKT 17:00
Today's Press Releases