Go to main content
Appointments to seventh term of New Energy Transport Fund Steering Committee
     The Environment and Ecology Bureau (EEB) today (March 31) announced the appointments to the New Energy Transport Fund (NET Fund) Steering Committee (Steering Committee) for a new two-year term starting from April 1. 
     The new term of the Steering Committee will continue to be chaired by the Chairman of the Council of Hong Kong Metropolitan University and Committee Member of the Chinese General Chamber of Commerce, Hong Kong, Dr Conrad Wong Tin-cheung, with members comprising experts and academics in green innovative transport technologies, representatives nominated from the transport trades, as well as representatives of relevant government departments. To provide more opportunities for young people to participate in public affairs and policy discussions, the EEB has appointed two new members recruited under the Member Self-recommendation Scheme for Youth (MSSY).
     The Secretary for Environment and Ecology, Mr Tse Chin-wan, thanked the outgoing members Professor Christopher Chao Yu-hang, Dr Lawrence Cheung Chi-chong, Mr Andy Chung Wai-leung and Mr Chan Sam-choi, for their enormous contributions to the Steering Committee and was also deeply grateful for the invaluable advice from all members of the last term rendered to the Government on the approval of funding support for testing green innovative transport technologies as well as the trial on hydrogen fuel cell double-decker buses and heavy vehicles.
     The membership of the Steering Committee in the new term is as follows:
Dr Conrad Wong Tin-cheung
Miss Lai Hei-yan#
Mr Kent Lam Wing-keung
Mr Jhonny Leung Huang#
Mr Ling Chi-keung
Professor Lo Hong-kam
Mr Ng Kwan-sing
Mr Wilson Or Chong-shing
Mr Matthew Wong Leung-pak
Mr Rex Wong Siu-han*
Dr Daniel Yan Ting-kwan
Mr Yu Kwok-tai*
Representative of the Electrical and Mechanical Services Department
Representative of the Environment and Ecology Bureau
Representative of the Innovation and Technology Commission
Representative of the Transport Department
* New members
# New members recruited from MSSY
Principal Environmental Protection Officer (Air Policy), EEB
     Transportation accounts for about 20 per cent of Hong Kong's total carbon emissions. The development of green transportation is crucial to achieving the goal of carbon neutrality. Since the establishment of the NET Fund, the Fund has approved a total of 304 trials, including different types of green innovative transportation technologies, such as electric commercial vehicles, electric waste collection vessels and electric kaito, with a total funding amount of about $257 million. The NET Fund will continue to subsidise the transport trade to encourage trials and the wider use of zero-emission new energy transport technologies. Key projects include the trial applications for hydrogen fuel cell vehicles as well as promotion of the trials of e-taxis and electric medium and heavy goods vehicles.
     The Government has put in place the Fund (previously named the Pilot Green Transport Fund) since March 2011 to subsidise and encourage the testing and wider use of green innovative transport technologies for a variety of commercial transport tools, including goods vehicles, taxis, light buses, buses, vessels, motorcycles, non-road vehicles and the aforesaid transport tools of charitable/non-profit making organisations providing services to their clients. The Steering Committee advises the Government on the operation of the Fund and the approval of funding for applications.
     For more information on the Fund, please visit the EEB website (www.eeb.gov.hk/en/new-energy-transport-fund.html).
Ends/Friday, March 31, 2023
Issued at HKT 11:05
Today's Press Releases