Go to main content
Appointments to Quality Education Fund Steering Committee announced
     The Government today (January 20) announced the re-appointment of seven incumbent members and the appointment of four new members to the Quality Education Fund Steering Committee (QEFSC) for a term of two years with effect from January 16, 2023.

     The seven incumbent members re-appointed are Ms Rita Chan Yin-nei, Ms Daphne Ho Kin-yi, Ms Promail Leung Kin-yi, Ms Angela Leung Wai-tuen, Mr Pang Chor-fu, Mr Addy Wong Wai-hung and Mr Yeung Sai-man. The four newly appointed members are Ms Eva Charisa Hsu, Mr David Leung Yiu-fai, Mr Benjamin Ng Yau-keung and Dr Winnie Tang Shuk-ming.

     The Secretary for Education, Dr Choi Yuk-lin, said, "With the re-appointment and new appointment of members to the QEFSC, I am confident that the Quality Education Fund (QEF) will continue to achieve outstanding results in the promotion of quality school education in Hong Kong, benefitting more students, parents, teachers and school administrative personnel."

     Dr Choi also expressed gratitude to the four outgoing members, Ms Kelly Chan Yuen-sau, Ms Jane Leung Chui-chun, Ms Bella Lo Sung-yi and Mr Shum Yiu-kwong, for their valuable contributions to and support for the QEFSC in the past years.

     The QEF was established in 1998 with $5 billion in capital from the Government to fund innovative projects that promote quality education in Hong Kong. The QEFSC advises on the policies and operation of the QEF, and makes recommendations to the QEF Trustee on the funding applications.

     Since its establishment, the QEF has supported about 13 400 projects with total funding amounting to about $6.4 billion.

     The membership list of the new term of the QEFSC is as follows:
Dr Gordon Tsui Luen-on
Appointed members
Ms Rita Chan Yin-nei
Mr Stanley Choi Tak-shing
Ms Joanne Fong Yee-man
Ms Daphne Ho Kin-yi
Ms Eva Charisa Hsu#
Mr Lau Chun-hung
Ms Promail Leung Kin-yi
Ms Angela Leung Wai-tuen
Mr David Leung Yiu-fai#
Mr Benjamin Ng Yau-keung#
Mr Pang Chor-fu
Mr Shek Wai-keung
Dr Winnie Tang Shuk-ming#
Mr Addy Wong Wai-hung
Mr Yeung Sai-man
Mr Dieter Yih Lai-tak
Ex-officio member
Deputy Secretary for Education (5)
# New appointee
Ends/Friday, January 20, 2023
Issued at HKT 11:26
Today's Press Releases