Go to main content
Appointments of Chairman and members to Education Commission
     ​The Government announced today (December 30) that the Chief Executive has appointed Dr David Wong Yau-kar to succeed Mr Tim Lui Tim-leung as the Chairman of the Education Commission for a term of two years with effect from January 1, 2023.
     The Chief Executive has also appointed eight new non-official members, drawn from a broad cross-section of the community, comprising leaders and academics. They are Dr Phyllis Chan Kwok-ling, Dr Sylvia Chan May-kuen, Ms Mimi Cheung Yee-may, Mr Kwok Wing-keung, Dr Ling Yu-shih, Mr Benjamin Ng Yau-keung, Mr Douglas So Cheung-tak and Professor Eric Yim Chi-ming. Meanwhile, four incumbent non-official members have been re-appointed. They are Mr Herbert Chia Pun-kok, Mr Joseph Luc Ngai, Dr Winnie Tang Shuk-ming and Mr Wong Kam-leung. They all will serve a two-year term except for Mr Wong Kam-leung, who will have served six years on the Commission by June 30, 2023. The effective date of their term will be January 1, 2023.
     In recognition of the importance of parent involvement and home-school co-operation in promoting quality education, the Chairman of the Committee on Home-School Co-operation has been appointed as an ex-officio member of the Commission in the new term.
     The Secretary for Education, Dr Choi Yuk-lin, welcomed the appointments. She said, "Education has always been the Government's priority. The Government is committed to developing quality education and catering for the learning needs of students at different stages. Dr Wong is a distinguished community leader with extensive experience serving in major boards and committees particularly in the field of education. The new term of the Commission has a broad representation of membership. I am confident that with the capable leadership of Dr Wong and the wealth of expertise and experience of members in different areas, the Commission will continue to offer constructive advice and professional views from a multitude of dimensions to the Education Bureau, and work together with the Bureau to nurture multi-skilled talents for the city and the motherland, and promote the long-term development of education."
        Dr Choi also expressed her heartfelt gratitude to the outgoing Chairman, Mr Tim Lui Tim-leung. She said, "Mr Lui has served as the Chairman of the Commission since May 2015. Under his visionary leadership and distinct foresight, the Commission has offered wise counsel to the Education Bureau on the overall education objectives, policies and development over the years, which has contributed to continuous improvements in education services including recommendations to strengthen home-school co-operation and enhance school-based management. I would like to pay tribute to Mr Lui for his excellent chairmanship and dedication to the Commission."
     Dr Choi also thanked the outgoing members, Ms Nancy Ho Lan-sang, Dr Leung Wing-hung and Ms Vu Im-fan, for their invaluable contributions during their tenure.
     The membership list of the Commission with effect from January 1, 2023, is as follows:
Dr David Wong Yau-kar
Ex-officio members
Permanent Secretary for Education
Chairperson, Committee on Professional Development of Teachers and Principals
Chairman, Committee on Self-financing Post-secondary Education
Chairperson, Curriculum Development Council
Chairman, Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority Council
Chairman, Quality Education Fund Steering Committee
Chairperson, Standing Committee on Language Education and Research
Chairman, University Grants Committee
Chairman, Vocational Training Council
Chairman, Committee on Home-School Co-operation*
Non-official members
Dr Phyllis Chan Kwok-ling*
Dr Sylvia Chan May-kuen*
Ms Mimi Cheung Yee-may*
Mr Herbert Chia Pun-kok
Mr Kwok Wing-keung*
Dr Ling Yu-shih*
Mr Joseph Luc Ngai
Mr Benjamin Ng Yau-keung*
Mr Douglas So Cheung-tak*
Dr Winnie Tang Shuk-ming
Mr Wong Kam-leung
Professor Eric Yim Chi-ming*
(*new appointees)
Ends/Friday, December 30, 2022
Issued at HKT 15:38
Today's Press Releases