Go to main content
Appointments of lay members of HKICPA Council
     The Government announced today (November 25) the re-appointment of Ms Theresa Ng Choi-yuk and Ms Agnes Choi Heung-kwan as lay members of the Council of the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants (HKICPA) for a term of two years from December 1, 2022, to November 30, 2024.
     The Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Mr Christopher Hui, said, "The accountancy sector plays a pivotal role in underpinning Hong Kong's status as an international financial centre. With the launch of the new regulatory regime of the accounting profession in October this year, the HKICPA will focus its work more on raising the standards and competitiveness of the profession. We very much look forward to the continued contribution of Ms Ng and Ms Choi to the work of the HKICPA in driving high-quality development of the accountancy profession in Hong Kong."
     The HKICPA is the statutory accounting professional body with over 47 000 members. It is responsible for various professional functions, such as registration of certified public accountants, setting continuing professional development requirements, as well as setting standards on professional ethics, accounting, auditing and assurance for the accounting profession. The HKICPA Council is the governing body of the Institute.
     Under the Professional Accountants Ordinance (Cap. 50), the composition of the HKICPA Council includes four lay members appointed by the Chief Executive. The power of the Chief Executive to make appointments to the Council has been delegated to the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury.
Ends/Friday, November 25, 2022
Issued at HKT 11:00
Today's Press Releases