Go to main content
Appointments to Legal Aid Services Council
     The Government announced today (August 31) that the Chief Executive has appointed and re-appointed members to the Legal Aid Services Council for a term of two years with effect from September 1, 2022. 
     The newly appointed members are Mr Tom Fu Ka-min and Mr Ronald Sum Kwan-ngai, solicitor members nominated by the Law Society of Hong Kong; Mr Bosco Cheng Yu-kit and Mr Robin Nelson Egerton, who are barrister members nominated by the Hong Kong Bar Association; and a lay member, Ms Yvonne Yeung Kin-ha. The re-appointed members are three lay members, Ms Serena Lau Sze-wan, Ms Rosita Lee Pui-shan and Ms Iris Wan Lai-sze.
     "We would like to thank the outgoing members, Mr Nicholas Chan Hiu-fung, Ms Karen Lam, Mrs Ayesha Macpherson Lau, Mr Tim Parker and Mr Randy Shek Shu-ming, for their sterling contributions and dedication to the work of the Council during their term of service," a Government spokesman said.
     Established under the Legal Aid Services Council Ordinance (Cap. 489), the Council is responsible for overseeing the administration of the legal aid services provided by the Legal Aid Department and advising the Chief Executive on legal aid policy. The Council comprises a chairman and lay members who are not connected with the practice of law, barrister members and solicitor members nominated by the Bar Association and the Law Society respectively, and the Director of Legal Aid. The membership list with effect from September 1, 2022, is as follows:
Professor William Leung Wing-cheung
Mr Bosco Cheng Yu-kit
Mr Robin Nelson Egerton
Mr Tom Fu Ka-min
Ms Serena Lau Sze-wan
Ms Rosita Lee Pui-shan
Mr Ronald Sum Kwan-ngai
Ms Iris Wan Lai-sze
Ms Yvonne Yeung Kin-ha
Ex-officio member
Director of Legal Aid
Ends/Wednesday, August 31, 2022
Issued at HKT 15:00
Today's Press Releases