Go to main content
Appointment of Hong Kong Productivity Council Chairman
      The Government today (June 24) announced that the Chief Executive has appointed Mr Sunny Tan as the Chairman of the Hong Kong Productivity Council (HKPC) for two years from August 6, 2022.

     As a seasoned industrialist, Mr Tan is currently a Member of the Legislative Council. He has a strong record of public and community service, including as a member of the HKPC, the Action Committee Against Narcotics, the Hong Kong Trade Development Council, the Trade and Industry Advisory Board, the Vocational Training Council, as well as the Programme Management Committee under the Dedicated Fund on Branding, Upgrading and Domestic Sales.

     The Secretary for Innovation and Technology, Mr Alfred Sit, welcomed the appointment of Mr Tan as the new Chairman of the HKPC. He said that the HKPC and the innovation and technology sector would benefit from Mr Tan's strong industry background and experience in public service. Under Mr Tan's leadership, the HKPC will continue to promote re-industrialisation, enhance the competitiveness of Hong Kong's manufacturing industry with innovation and technology, and assist enterprises to adopt new technologies to upgrade to high value-added production.

     Mr Sit also thanked the outgoing Chairman, Mr Willy Lin Sun-mo, for his exemplary service as the HKPC Chairman since August 2016. Under his capable leadership, the HKPC has strengthened its support for local industries, in particular small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), with outstanding achievements.

     "Mr Lin has led the HKPC to continue to be the industries' most preferred productivity partner. During his term, the HKPC promoted the upgrading and transformation of the industry towards Industry 4.0. Meanwhile, the HKPC is also committed to promoting re-industrialisation. Under the COVID-19 pandemic, the HKPC stands firm in providing concrete assistance to SMEs to ride out the storm and overcome business challenges. We are very grateful for Mr Lin's strenuous efforts in planning and promoting the development of the HKPC during his term," Mr Sit said.

     The HKPC was established in 1967 to promote productivity excellence in Hong Kong through providing integrated support to innovative and growth-oriented Hong Kong enterprises across the value chain. The HKPC's main sectoral focus is Hong Kong's manufacturing and related service industries, with the main geographical focuses in Hong Kong and the Greater Bay Area. The HKPC provides its clients with a diverse range of supporting services in product development, consultancy, training and technology transfer.

     The membership of the Council with effect from August 6, 2022, is as follows:
Non-Official Members:
Mr Sunny Tan (Chairman)
Mr Patrick Wong Chi-kwong (Deputy Chairman)
Mr Bryant Chan Wan-sing
Ms Clara Chan Yuen-shan
Mr Ricky Chan Wai-chung
Mr Brian Cheng Ho-wai
Mr Marvin Hsu Tsun-fai
Ms Mandy Kwok Man-yee
Ms Vivien Lau Man-yee
Ms Juan Leung Chung-yan
Mr Bernard Poon Che-wai
Mr Paul Poon Wai-yin
Ms Tam Kam-lin
Professor Tam Kar-yan
Mr Donald Tong Chi-keung
Ms Karmen Yeung Ka-yin
Mr Emil Yu Chen-on

Official Members:
Permanent Secretary for Innovation, Technology and Industry
Commissioner for Innovation and Technology
Director-General of Trade and Industry
Government Economist
Deputy Commissioner for Labour
Ends/Friday, June 24, 2022
Issued at HKT 13:00
Today's Press Releases