Go to main content
Appointments to industry advisory committees to advise Insurance Authority
     The Government announced today (May 31) the appointments to two industry advisory committees (IACs) to advise the Insurance Authority (IA) on industry-related issues.

     The two IACs focus on long-term business and general business respectively. The Financial Secretary has re-appointed or appointed 11 non-official members to each of the IACs for a term of two years from June 1, 2022, to May 31, 2024.

     The Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Mr Christopher Hui, said, "Members of the two IACs have expertise in different areas of the insurance industry such as actuary and fintech/insurtech, or related professions such as banking, legal, medical and academia. Their wealth of experience and diverse backgrounds will provide the IA with valuable advice on various matters pertaining to the development of the insurance industry."

     Mr Hui added, "I would also like to express my sincere gratitude to the 11 outgoing members for their contribution to the IACs during their term."

     The IACs are statutory committees established under the Insurance Ordinance (Cap. 41) on June 1, 2016. The Ordinance stipulates that other than the chairperson, the chief executive officer and not more than two other executive directors of the IA, members of an IAC should include not less than eight but not more than 12 other persons with knowledge of or experience in the insurance industry, the conduct of regulated activities and consumer affairs. They are appointed by the Financial Secretary after consultation with the IA.

     Following is the list of non-official members of the IACs with effect from June 1, 2022: 

Non-official members of the IAC on Long Term Business
Mrs Estella Chiu Sheun-fun
Mr Alex Chu Wing-yiu
Mr Peter James Crewe
Mr Dick Fong Ho-cheung
Ms Lisa Lau Man-man
Ms Selina Lau Pui-ling
Ms Orchis Li Tzy-lan
Mr Bill Song Xuanbi 
Mr Wilson Tang Chee-ping 
Mr Harold Wong Tsu-hing
Mr Jonathan Zhao Xiaojing

Non-official members of the IAC on General Business
Mr Rohan Bhappu
Mr Jonathan Chen Zhaonan
Mr Cheong Heng-loong
Dr Fung Hong
Ms Polly Ho Kin-wing
Dr Kevin Lau Chung-hang
Mr Alan Lau Ka-ming 
Ms Angela Leung Wai-tuen
Mr Jimmy Poon Wing-fai
Professor Tang Heiwai
Ms Sally Wan Yuen-wai
Ends/Tuesday, May 31, 2022
Issued at HKT 15:00
Today's Press Releases