Go to main content
Re-appointment of members to Independent Police Complaints Council
     The Government today (May 27) announced the re-appointment of Mr Clement Chan Kam-wing, Mr Wilson Kwong Wing-tsuen, Dr Anissa Chan Wong Lai-kuen and Mr Roland Wong Ka-yeung as members to the Independent Police Complaints Council (IPCC) for a term of two years with effect from June 1, 2022.
     The appointments are made by the Chief Executive according to section 5 of the Independent Police Complaints Council Ordinance (Cap. 604) (IPCC Ordinance).
     The Secretary for Security, Mr Tang Ping-keung, said, "I am most grateful for the relentless efforts and invaluable contributions of the IPCC in safeguarding a fair, effective and transparent two-tier police complaints system in Hong Kong. I am confident that the IPCC will continue to actively discharge its independent statutory monitoring functions and ensure that complaints from the public will be handled fairly and impartially."
     Mr Tang said that the Government will continue to give full support to the IPCC in discharging its statutory monitoring functions to ensure the effective operation of a fair and impartial police complaints system in Hong Kong, thereby further strengthening public confidence.
     The IPCC, established under the IPCC Ordinance, is an independent statutory body responsible for monitoring and reviewing the investigation of complaints against members of the Police Force. The IPCC Ordinance provides a statutory basis for the IPCC's role and power as well as the two-tier police complaints system. It also imposes a statutory duty on the Police to comply with the IPCC's requirements. The IPCC comprises a Chairman, three Vice-chairmen and 19 non-official members.
Ends/Friday, May 27, 2022
Issued at HKT 15:00
Today's Press Releases