Go to main content
Appointments to Hong Kong Committee for Pacific Economic Cooperation
     The Government today (March 31) announced the membership of the Hong Kong Committee for Pacific Economic Cooperation (HKCPEC) for the new term of two years from April 1, 2022, to March 31, 2024.
     The Dean, School of Business and Management of the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Professor Tam Kar-yan, has been appointed as Chairman of the HKCPEC. Incumbent members Professor Chan Wai-sum, Mr Geoffrey Kao, Mr Kelvin Lau and Ms Edith Law have been re-appointed. Ms Emily Cheung, Mr Dickson Kwok, Dr Miranda Lou, Professor Lui Hon-kwong and Miss Oriana Yeung have been appointed as new members.
     The Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Edward Yau, said, "I am very pleased that Professor Tam, who has rich experience and expertise, has agreed to serve as the new Chairman and lead the HKCPEC in promoting regional economic co-operation. I would also like to thank the outgoing Chairman, Professor Matthew Lee Kwok-on, for his distinguished leadership during the past six years, and the outgoing members, Dr Buston Chu, Professor Syaru Shirley Lin and Professor Emily Nason for their valuable contributions during their tenure."
     The HKCPEC is a tripartite forum, comprising members from the academic, business and government sectors, to co-ordinate Hong Kong, China's participation in the Pacific Economic Cooperation Council (PECC), a non-profit, policy-oriented regional organisation with 22 member economies dedicated to the promotion of regional economic development. Over the years, apart from contributing actively to the discussion on the PECC front, the HKCPEC has also been promoting locally the importance of regional trade and economic co-operation through a series of internship and youth programmes.
     The new membership list of the HKCPEC is as follows:
Professor Tam Kar-yan
Vice Chairman
Deputy Director-General of Trade and Industry
Professor Chan Wai-sum
Ms Emily Cheung
Mr Geoffrey Kao
Mr Dickson Kwok
Mr Kelvin Lau
Ms Edith Law
Dr Miranda Lou
Professor Lui Hon-kwong
Miss Oriana Yeung
Government Economist or his/her representative
Director of Research of the Hong Kong Trade Development Council or his/her representative
Ends/Thursday, March 31, 2022
Issued at HKT 15:00
Today's Press Releases