Go to main content
Appointments to SCOLAR announced
     The Education Bureau (EDB) today (June 25) announced the appointment of Dr Anissa Chan Wong Lai-kuen as the Chairperson of the Standing Committee on Language Education and Research (SCOLAR) for two years with effect from July 1, 2021.
     Dr Chan was formerly the Principal of St. Paul's Co-educational College and the Chairperson of the Task Force on Review of School Curriculum formed under the EDB. She is currently an honorary member of the Court of the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology and a member of the Council of the Education University of Hong Kong.
     The Secretary for Education, Mr Kevin Yeung, said, "We believe that with Dr Chan's strong expertise and leading experience in education as well as her great enthusiasm in language education, SCOLAR will further advance the work on promotion of biliteracy and trilingualism in Hong Kong under her able leadership."
     The EDB also re-appointed eight serving members and appointed four new members to SCOLAR for two years.
     Mr Yeung thanked the outgoing Chairman, Mr Lester Garson Huang. "In the past six years, Mr Huang has demonstrated his strong dedication as the Chairman of SCOLAR. His steering has enabled SCOLAR to deliberate on various initiatives and advance language education in Hong Kong. For instance, the launch of the 'Chinese and English Language Enhancement Programme for Kindergarten Teachers' has facilitated the smooth implementation of the revised Kindergarten Education Curriculum Guide; the 'Grant Scheme on Promoting Effective English Language Learning in Primary Schools' has helped enrich the English language environment on campus; and the development of graded readers will enhance Chinese language learning of non-Chinese speaking students and allow them to better immerse into Hong Kong society. Mr Huang's devotion to the work of SCOLAR is very much appreciated," he said.
     Mr Yeung also thanked the outgoing members, namely Ms Chan Shin-kwan, Professor Cecilia Chun Ka-wai, Professor Erwin Steve Huang and Dr Yuen Chun-wah, for their sterling service and contributions to the work of SCOLAR.
     "The Government will continue to work closely with SCOLAR in gauging the views of different sectors of the community in our efforts to provide quality language education and to enable the people in Hong Kong to be biliterate and trilingual," he said.
     The membership list of SCOLAR with effect from July 1, 2021, is as follows:
Dr Anissa Chan Wong Lai-kuen
Re-appointed members
Ms Dilys Chau Suet-fung
Ms Joanne Fong Yee-man
Professor Anthony Fung Ying-him
Mr Armstrong Lee Hon-cheung
Ms Cecilia Lee Sau-wai
Dr Shirley Marie Therese Loo
Dr Tse Wai-lok
Dr Paul Tsui Hon-yan
Newly appointed members
Professor Icy Lee Kit-bing
Mrs Cindy Chow Lok Mei-ki
Mr Pang Chor-fu
Dr Zhu Xin-hua
Ex-officio members
Deputy Secretary for Education
Chairperson of Curriculum Development Council's Committee on Chinese Language Education
Chairperson of Curriculum Development Council's Committee on English Language Education
Chairperson of Curriculum Development Council's Committee on Early Childhood Education
Chairperson of the Committee on Professional Development of Teachers and Principals
Secretary-General of Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority or representative
     SCOLAR was set up in 1996 to advise the Government on language education issues in general and on the use of the Language Fund.
Ends/Friday, June 25, 2021
Issued at HKT 12:05
Today's Press Releases