Go to main content
Appointments of Chairman and members of Committee on the Promotion of Civic Education
     The Government today (March 31) announced the appointment of Mr Stanley Choi Tak-shing as the Chairman of the Committee on the Promotion of Civic Education (CPCE) as well as the appointment of four new members and the re-appointment of 10 members for a two-year term starting from April 1, 2021.

     A Government spokesman said Mr Choi is currently a member of various advisory bodies, including the CPCE, the Basic Law Promotion Steering Committee and the Quality Education Fund Steering Committee, etc.

     The spokesman said, "Mr Choi was first appointed to the CPCE in 2018 and has since been dedicated to the work of the CPCE. He has actively provided advice to various sub-committees under the CPCE on matters related to the promotion of civic education. He has also lent strong support to many civic education activities organised by the CPCE."

     The spokesman thanked the outgoing Chairman, Ms Melissa Kaye Pang, for her contributions to the work of the CPCE. Ms Pang first served as a CPCE member from April 2009 to March 2015, before assuming the CPCE's chairmanship since April 2015.

     The spokesman said, "Ms Pang has devoted much time and tremendous efforts to the work of the CPCE over the past years, with fruitful achievements during her tenure. Under Ms Pang's leadership, the CPCE has strengthened its work on the promotion of core civic values and publicised the messages of respect and inclusiveness to enhance social harmony. It has also organised large-scale events to promote the Basic Law."

     The spokesman also extended the Government's gratitude to the outgoing members for their efforts in promoting the work of the CPCE.

     New members appointed are Mr Dave Ho, Dr Hoey Simon Lee, Miss Christine Leung Wan-chong and Ms Wong Kit-lin. Re-appointed members are Miss Catherina Choy Mei-wa, Ms Amy Fung Dun-mi, Miss Maisy Ho Chiu-ha, Mr Kinsey Ho Ka-tsun, Mr Rex Ip Yik-nam, Reverend Peter Douglas Koon Ho-ming, Ms Shirley Marie Therese Loo, Mr Laurence Tang Yat-long, Dr Yan Wai-kiu and Ms Jennifer Yeung Yin-chi.

     The official members of the CPCE include representatives from the Home Affairs Bureau, the Education Bureau, the Information Services Department, the Department of Justice, the Social Welfare Department, the Hong Kong Police Force, Radio Television Hong Kong and the Independent Commission Against Corruption.

     The CPCE is a non-statutory advisory body tasked to promote civic education outside schools. It advises the Government on the objective and scope of civic education, promotes civic education outside schools through a range of publicity and educational programmes, and sponsors eligible organisations to carry out civic education projects through funding schemes.
Ends/Wednesday, March 31, 2021
Issued at HKT 11:00
Today's Press Releases