Go to main content
Appointments to Appeal Board Panel (Exemption of Regulated Products) under Human Organ Transplant Ordinance
     ​The Government announced today (August 28) the appointment of Dr Karen Shum Hau-yan as a new member and the re-appointment of eight serving members to the Appeal Board Panel (Exemption of Regulated Products) (the Panel) constituted under section 7I of the Human Organ Transplant Ordinance (Cap. 465) (the Ordinance). The appointments will be effective from September 1, 2020, for a term of three years.
     The Ordinance prohibits commercial dealings in human organs intended for transplanting, restricts the transplanting of human organs between living persons and the transplanting of imported human organs, and for supplementary purposes connected with those matters.
     An exemption mechanism for regulated organ products has been provided under the Ordinance since September 1, 2011. A person who intends to make available regulated products for transplant on a commercial basis may apply for exemption from the Director of Health. Those aggrieved by the Director’s decisions on their applications for exemption may make an appeal to the Appeal Board constituted from the Panel as appointed by the Secretary for Food and Health.
     The full membership of the Panel with effect from September 1, 2020, is as follows:
Ms Bonita Chan Bow-ye
Professor Bernard Cheung Man-yung
Dr Abril Choy Fung-peng
Mr Rix Chung Kwok-fai
Dr David Lam Tat-yin
Dr Teresa Law Sui-chun
Dr. Karen Shum Hau-yan*
Ms Luciana Wong Wai-lan
Ms Adelaide Yu Hoi-man
*new appointee
Ends/Friday, August 28, 2020
Issued at HKT 11:00
Today's Press Releases