Go to main content
Appointments to Legal Aid Services Council
     The Government announced today (August 21) that the Chief Executive has appointed and re-appointed members to the Legal Aid Services Council for a term of two years with effect from September 1, 2020. 
     Newly-appointed members are Ms Karen Lam, nominated by the Law Society of Hong Kong, and two lay members, Ms Serena Lau Sze-wan and Ms Rosita Lee Pui-shan. Re-appointed members are Mr Tim Parker and Mr Randy Shek Shu-ming, who are barrister members nominated by the Hong Kong Bar Association; Mr Nicholas Chan Hiu-fung, a solicitor member nominated by the Law Society of Hong Kong; and two lay members, Mrs Ayesha Macpherson Lau and Ms Iris Wan Lai-sze. 
     "We would like to thank the outgoing members, Mr Warren Ganesh, Mr Clarence Leung Wang-ching and Ms Wong Wai-ching for their sterling contributions and dedication to the work of the Council during their term of service," a Government spokesman said.
     Established under the Legal Aid Services Council Ordinance (Cap. 489), the Council is responsible for overseeing the administration of the legal aid services provided by the Legal Aid Department and advising the Chief Executive on legal aid policy. The Council comprises a chairman and lay members who are not connected with the practice of law, barrister members and solicitor members nominated by the Hong Kong Bar Association and the Law Society of Hong Kong respectively, and the Director of Legal Aid.

     The membership list with effect from September 1, 2020, is as follows:
Dr William Leung Wing-cheung
Mr Nicholas Chan Hiu-fung
Ms Karen Lam
Mrs Ayesha Macpherson Lau
Ms Serena Lau Sze-wan
Ms Rosita Lee Pui-shan
Mr Tim Parker
Mr Randy Shek Shu-ming
Ms Iris Wan Lai-sze
Ex-officio member
Director of Legal Aid
Ends/Friday, August 21, 2020
Issued at HKT 9:30
Today's Press Releases