Go to main content
Appointment of non-executive directors of SFC
     The Government announced today (July 6) that the Financial Secretary, Mr Paul Chan, under the authority delegated by the Chief Executive, has appointed Mr Victor Dawes, SC, and re-appointed Dr James C Lin as non-executive directors of the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC). The two-year terms of Mr Dawes and Dr Lin will begin on August 1, 2020.
     Mr Chan said, "Mr Victor Dawes, SC, has substantial experience in securities and regulatory matters as well as banking and financial disputes. I am confident that he will provide a valuable contribution to the work of the SFC.
     "Dr Lin has offered constructive advice on areas of good corporate governance and others of the SFC during his tenure. I look forward to his continued support for the work of the SFC."
     He added, "I would also like to thank the outgoing non-executive director, Dr William Wong, SC, for his invaluable contribution to the work of the SFC over the past six years. His wise counsel has been conducive to enhancing the SFC's role as a regulator that focuses on market quality. I look forward to his continued support for the further development of the financial services industry in Hong Kong."

     The SFC is chaired by Mr Tim Lui Tim-leung. Other serving non-executive directors are Ms Agnes Chan Sui-kuen, Mr Clement Chan Kam-wing, Mr Edward Cheng Wai-sun, Mr Lester Garson Huang, and Mr Nicky Lo Kar-chun.
Ends/Monday, July 6, 2020
Issued at HKT 17:00
Today's Press Releases