Go to main content
Appointments to Statistics Advisory Board
     The Government announced today (May 28) that the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury has appointed members to the Statistics Advisory Board (SAB) for a new term of two years from June 1, 2020, to May 31, 2022.
     The SAB of the new term includes 13 non-official members, six of whom are serving members and seven newly appointed members. The new members are Mr Edward Ho Man-tat, Mr Patrick Leung Chin-pak, Professor Isabella Poon Wai-yin, Professor Shen Haipeng, Mr Stan Tang Yiu-sing, Mr Ivan Ting Tien-li and Mr Daniel Wong Wai-hung.
     The Commissioner for Census and Statistics, Ms Marion Chan, said, "Members of the SAB are established professionals from different disciplines. Their diverse background and expertise will provide the Census and Statistics Department with invaluable insights and help ensure that its statistical work will continue to meet the evolving needs of our community."
     Ms Chan added, "We are grateful to the five outgoing members, Mr Victor Chan Kok-wai, Ms Clara Lau Wai-ping, Professor Leung Siu-fai, Professor Tsui Kwok-leung and Mr Augustine Wong Ho-ming for their unfailing support and wise counsel to the SAB that has helped foster the development of the Government's statistical work over the past years."
     The SAB is an advisory body established in 1972 to advise the Commissioner for Census and Statistics on matters pertaining to official statistical work. Its membership consists of professionals from the business sector, the academia and the community, providing a wide representation to assist the Commissioner in integrating views of data users, data suppliers and statisticians.
     Following is the membership of the SAB for the new term from June 1, 2020, to May 31, 2022:
Chairperson (Ex officio)

Commissioner for Census and Statistics
Official members

Director of Planning (or representative)
Government Economist (or representative)
Representative from the Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau
Non-official members

Mrs Cheung Ang Siew-mei
Ms Nicole Yuen Shuk-kam
Mr Samuel Lau Kin-pui
Ms Michelle Leung Oi-pui
Dr Vivian Lou Wei-qun
Mr Gavin Poon Ka-ming
Mr Edward Ho Man-tat *
Mr Patrick Leung Chin-pak *
Professor Isabella Poon Wai-yin *
Professor Shen Haipeng *
Mr Stan Tang Yiu-sing *
Mr Ivan Ting Tien-li *
Mr Daniel Wong Wai-hung *
*Newly appointed
Ends/Thursday, May 28, 2020
Issued at HKT 14:30
Today's Press Releases