Go to main content
Appointments to Council on Human Reproductive Technology
     The Government today (May 8) announced the appointment of one new member and re-appointment of three serving members to the Council on Human Reproductive Technology with effect from May 11, 2020, for a term of three years.

Re-appointed members
Ms Kam Yim-mui (Deputy Chairperson)
Professor Sylvia Fung Yuk-kuen
Mr Chan How-chi

Newly appointed member
Mr Hui Ching-on

     Established in 2001 under the Human Reproductive Technology Ordinance, the Council on Human Reproductive Technology is tasked to regulate the conduct of reproductive technology including embryo research in Hong Kong through a licensing system and the publication of a Code of Practice for the relevant professions.

     Under section 4(2) of the Ordinance, the Council consists of 26 members from a wide range of disciplines, including medical specialists, legal professionals, a social worker, a scholar in philosophy or ethics, a psychologist, a sociologist, local community leaders and government representatives.

     The membership list of the Council with effect from May 11, 2020, is as follows:

Dr Matthew Ng

Deputy Chairperson
Ms Kam Yim-mui

Dr Philip Beh Swan-lip
Mr Chan How-chi
Ms Chan Ka-wai
Professor Cecilia Cheng
Dr Cheung Tak-hong
Professor Cheung Yuet-wah
Dr Chow Kam-ming
Dr Abril Choy Fung-peng
Professor Sylvia Fung Yuk-kuen
Mr Hui Ching-on
Professor Ma Lai-chong
Mr Gavin Poon Ka-ming
Reverend Dr Andrew Ng Wai-man
Dr Tang Kwok-keung
Professor Wong Man-sau
Ms Priscilla Wong Wai-yee
Ms Wu Shuk-yin
Ms Adelaide Yu Hoi-man
Dr Yu Kai-man
Mr Christopher Yu Wing-fai
Principal Assistant Secretary, Food and Health Bureau
Assistant Director, Department of Health
Assistant Director, Home Affairs Department
Chief Social Work Officer, Social Welfare Department
Ends/Friday, May 8, 2020
Issued at HKT 11:00
Today's Press Releases