Go to main content
Appointment of Chairman of Council of Lingnan University
     The Government announced today (December 27) that the Chief Executive had appointed Mr Andrew Yao as Chairman of the Council of the Lingnan University (LU) for a term of three years with effect from January 1, 2020.

     The Secretary for Education, Mr Kevin Yeung, welcomed Mr Yao's appointment as the LU Council Chairman.

     "Mr Yao is dedicated to public service and has in particular contributed significantly to the higher education sector. He has been the Deputy Chairman of the Council of Hong Kong Baptist University and is a former member of the LU Council, the Court of University of Hong Kong, and the Steering Committee on the Hong Kong Scholarship for Excellence Scheme. With his distinguished leadership and wealth of experience in public service, I am confident that Mr Yao will be able to lead the LU in scaling new heights in the years to come," he said.

     Mr Yeung also expressed his gratitude to Mr Simon Ip, the Deputy Chairman of the LU Council, for his service as Acting Chairman since Mr Rex Auyeung's departure in October 2019.

     He said, "Over the past three months, Mr Ip has led the LU Council, in his capacity as Acting Chairman, and ensured the smooth operation and steady development of the University. I would like to express my heartfelt gratitude to Mr Ip."
     Mr Ip will cease to be Acting Chairman of the LU Council, upon the commencement of Mr Yao's appointment on January 1, 2020.
Ends/Friday, December 27, 2019
Issued at HKT 10:15
Today's Press Releases