Go to main content
Appointments to Securities and Futures Appeals Tribunal
     Under the authority delegated by the Chief Executive, the Financial Secretary has appointed five new members and re-appointed 20 serving members to the Securities and Futures Appeals Tribunal (SFAT) for a new term from April 1, 2019, to March 31, 2021. 
     The membership of the SFAT for the new term is as follows:
New appointees
Mr Vincent Chan Chun-hung
Professor Chan Koon-hung
Mr Nelson Lam Chi-yuen
Mr Peter Leung Ming-hym
Ms Amelia Yau Yu-xin
Re-appointed members
Mr Jeffrey Chan
Ms Mable Chan Mei-bo
Ms Yvonne Cheng Wai-sum
Ms Kerry Ching Kim-wai
Mr Mohan Datwani
Ms Cindi Hui Ming-ming
Mr Johnson Kong Chi-how
Mr Henry Lai Hin-wing
Professor Leung Siu-fai
Mr Mak Kwong-fai
Dr Billy Mak Sui-choi
Mr Anthony Muh Yi-tong   
Mr Gerry Ng Joo-yeow 
Ms Edith Shih
Mr Roy Tsang Chi-wai       
Ms Wendy Tsang Kam-yin  
Mr Simon Wong Hin-wing
Mr Jamee Wong Kwok-ching
Ms Wendy Yuen Miu-ling
Ms Helen Zee
     Announcing the appointments today (March 22), a government spokesman said, "The SFAT provides an effective safeguard to ensure that the relevant regulatory decisions are reasonable and fair. It enhances the accountability of the relevant regulatory bodies."
     The Government also paid tribute to outgoing members. They are Ms Rebecca Chan Sze-oi, Ms Ivy Cheung Wing-han, Mr Vincent Chin, Ms Ding Chen, Mr Dennis Ho Chiu-ping and Mr Timothy Tse Wai-ming.
     "Their service to the SFAT provided an effective safeguard for the proper regulation of the securities and futures industry in Hong Kong," the spokesman said.
     The SFAT is a statutory tribunal established under the Securities and Futures Ordinance (SFO). According to the law, the SFAT is chaired by a judge or former judge for hearing appeals against specified decisions made under the SFO by the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC), the Hong Kong Monetary Authority, and the investor compensation company recognised by the SFC. There are currently four chairmen on the SFAT, namely Mr Michael John Hartmann, Mr Michael Victor Lunn, Mr Kenneth Kwok Hing-wai, S.C., and Mr Garry Tallentire.
Ends/Friday, March 22, 2019
Issued at HKT 17:00
Today's Press Releases