Go to main content
Appointments to Employees Retraining Board
     The Government announced today (March 15) the appointment of Mr Yu Pang-chun as the new Chairman of the Employees Retraining Board (ERB) and the appointment of the new Vice-Chairman and four new members, as well as the re-appointment of seven incumbent members, for a term of two years with effect from April 1, 2019.

     The new Vice-Chairman is Professor Simon Wong Kit-lung, while the four new members are Dr Johnny Ng Kit-chong, Mr Chu Yin-cheong, Mr Lam Chun-sing and Mr Li Wing-foo.

     Mr Yu Pang-chun has been serving the ERB since 2009 and was appointed as Vice-Chairman in 2013. He is an outstanding business leader and has extensive experience on manpower and retraining, and was the Chairman of the Business Facilitation Advisory Committee. Professor Simon Wong Kit-lung is currently a member of the ERB and also a member of the Commission on Poverty and the Non-executive Director of the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority.

     The seven members re-appointed are Ms Cally Chan Shan-shan, Mrs Susan So Chan Wai-hang, Ms Tse Siu-ling, Mr Cheng Ching-fat, Mrs Nancy Chan Lam See, Ms Christina Chan Shuk-han, and the Executive Director of the Vocational Training Council.

     The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Dr Law Chi-kwong, welcomed the appointments. "I am fully confident that under Mr Yu Pang-chun's capable leadership and with the dedicated support of the Vice-Chairman and all members, the ERB will continue to provide comprehensive and quality training as well as retraining services for our local workers with a view to enhancing their competitiveness and employability," Dr Law said.

     Dr Law also thanked the outgoing Chairman, Dr William Leung Wing-cheung, and members, Mr Allen Cheng Siu-kai, Ms Ng Wai-yee and Ms Lam Suk-fun, for their sterling contributions to the ERB during their tenure of service. He paid special tribute to Dr Leung. "Dr Leung has been serving the ERB since 2008. As the Chairman since 2013, he has demonstrated outstanding leadership to guide the efficient and effective operations of the ERB as well as the introduction of various new initiatives helping local workers embrace the ever-changing challenges. I would like to extend my gratitude for his dedicated service to the ERB for over a decade," he said.

     The ERB is a statutory body established in 1992 under the Employees Retraining Ordinance (Cap 423). The composition of its membership, comprising representatives of employers and employees, and persons connected with vocational training and retraining or manpower planning, is specified in the law. It is responsible for providing retraining courses and related placement services under the Manpower Development Scheme.

     The membership list of the ERB, with effect from April 1, 2019, is as follows:

Mr Yu Pang-chun

Professor Simon Wong Kit-lung

Representatives of Employers
Ms Cally Chan Shan-shan
Mrs Susan So Chan Wai-hang
Ms Tse Siu-ling
Dr Johnny Ng Kit-chong

Representatives of Employees
Mr Cheng Ching-fat
Mr Chu Yin-cheong
Mr Lam Chun-sing
Mr Li Wing-foo

Persons Connected with Vocational Training and Retraining or Manpower Planning
Professor Lui Yu-hon
Mrs Nancy Chan Lam See
Ms Christina Chan Shuk-han
Executive Director of Vocational Training Council

Public Officers
Permanent Secretary for Labour and Welfare
Commissioner for Labour
Ends/Friday, March 15, 2019
Issued at HKT 12:00
Today's Press Releases