Go to main content
Appointment of ACAN Chairman and members
     The Government announced today (December 28) that the Chief Executive has re-appointed Dr Ben Cheung Kin-leung as Chairman of the Action Committee Against Narcotics (ACAN) and re-appointed nine members. Seven new members have been appointed. 
     The re-appointments and new appointments are for a two-year term from January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2020. 
     The newly appointed members are Dr Cheung Wai-him, Dr Lam Ho-yi, Mr Clifford Leung Siu-on, Professor Anthony Ng Chi-fai, Mr Poon Hing-fai, Mr Albert Su Yau-on and Professor Tang Wai-kwong. 
     "The new members come from different sectors including the social services, medical, education and business sectors. With their wealth of experience and expertise, we are confident that they will bring new momentum to the work of the ACAN," a spokesman of the Narcotics Division, Security Bureau, said.
     Among the newly appointed ACAN members, Dr Cheung Wai-him is a psychiatrist; Dr Lam Ho-yi is a senior vice president of a company; Mr Clifford Leung Siu-on and Mr Albert Su Yau-on are senior management of charitable organisations; Professor Anthony Ng Chi-fai and Professor Tang Wai-kwong are university medical professors; and Mr Poon Hing-fai is a secondary school principal.
     The spokesman also expressed gratitude to the seven outgoing members for their contributions to the work of the ACAN and dedication to the anti-drug cause. They are Professor Cheung Yuet-wah, Dr Susan Fan Yun-sun, Mr Hui Yung-chung, Ms Lisa Lau Man-man, Mr Irons Sze, Dr Tik Chi-yuen and Dr Tse Man-li.
     The ACAN is the Government's advisory body on anti-drug matters. It was established in 1965. The membership list of the new term of the ACAN is as follows: 

Dr Ben Cheung Kin-leung
Mr Chan Man-ho
Mr Chan Wing-kin
Mr Edwin Cheng Shing-lung
Dr Cheung Wai-him
Mr Fan Hoi-kit
Mr Simon Ip Shing-hing
Miss Anna-Mae Koo Mei-jong
Dr Lam Ho-yi
Dr Lee Tin-yan*
Mr Clifford Leung Siu-on
Miss Li Ka-yan*
Dr Annissa Lui Wai-ling
Professor Anthony Ng Chi-fai
Mr Poon Hing-fai
Mr Albert Su Yau-on
Mr Sunny Tan
Professor Tang Wai-kwong
Ms Susan Yeung
Director, Central Narcotics Bureau of Singapore
Secretary for Education or his representative
Commissioner of Police or his representative
Commissioner of Customs and Excise or his representative
Director of Health or his representative
Director of Social Welfare or his representative
Commissioner for Narcotics
*appointed through the Member Self-recommendation Scheme for Youth with a term of appointment from June 1, 2018 to May 31, 2020.
Ends/Friday, December 28, 2018
Issued at HKT 12:00
Today's Press Releases