Go to main content
Appointment of non-executive directors of SFC
     The Government announced today (October 5) that the Financial Secretary, Mr Paul Chan, under the authority delegated by the Chief Executive, has appointed Ms Agnes Chan Sui-kuen and re-appointed Mr Edward Cheng Wai-sun as non-executive directors of the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC). The two-year term of Ms Chan will begin on October 20, 2018, and that of Mr Cheng will begin on January 1, 2019. 
     Ms Chan is the Managing Partner, Hong Kong and Macau of Ernst & Young and Mr Cheng is the Deputy Chairman and Chief Executive of Wing Tai Properties Limited. 
     Mr Chan said, "Ms Chan has a wealth of expertise and experience in financial services. I am confident that she will provide invaluable contribution to the work of the SFC.
     "Mr Cheng has provided valuable advice and guidance to the SFC during his tenure. I look forward to his continued support for the work of the SFC."
     He added, "I would also like to thank the outgoing non-executive director, Dr Kelvin Wong Tin-yau, for his active contribution to the work of the SFC over the past six years. His wise counsel has been conducive to enhancing the SFC's role as a regulator that focused on market quality. I look forward to his continued support for the further development of the financial services sector in Hong Kong."
     The SFC is currently chaired by Mr Carlson Tong. Other serving non-executive directors are Mr Albert Au Siu-cheung, Mr Lester Garson Huang, Mr James C Lin, Ms Mary Ma Xuezheng and Dr William Wong Ming-fung. 
Ends/Friday, October 5, 2018
Issued at HKT 17:00
Today's Press Releases