Go to main content
Government announces appointments to Mental Health Review Tribunal
     The Government today (June 15) announced the Chief Executive's appointment of Mr Maurice Lee Wai-man as the Chairman of the Mental Health Review Tribunal for a term of two years from July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2020.
     Mr Lee is an experienced solicitor who has been practicing law in Hong Kong for over 30 years. He is currently the Vice-chairman of the Hong Kong Arts Development Council. Moreover, he has been actively involved in community, cultural and social services for many years.
     The Government expressed gratitude to the outgoing Chairman, Mr Lambert Lee Ka-chai, for his valuable contribution to the Tribunal in the past.
     The Tribunal comprises a Chairman, 15 medical members, 15 social work members and 15 other members with experience and knowledge of administration or clinical psychology or other suitable qualifications or experience. The membership list of the Tribunal is available at the webpage of the Food and Health Bureau (www.fhb.gov.hk/en/committees/mhrt.htm).
     The Tribunal was set up in 1989 pursuant to the enactment of the Mental Health (Amendment) Ordinance. The function of the Tribunal is to consider applications or cases of patients who are liable to be compulsorily detained in mental hospitals or to compulsory guardianship, as well as to determine whether these patients should be discharged in accordance with the Mental Health Ordinance (Cap.136).
Ends/Friday, June 15, 2018
Issued at HKT 11:00
Today's Press Releases