Go to main content
Appointments to Board of Directors of Hong Kong Science and Technology Parks Corporation
     The Government today (June 14) announced the appointment of Dr Sunny Chai as the Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Hong Kong Science and Technology Parks Corporation (HKSTPC) and the appointment/re-appointment of 11 members to the HKSTPC for two years starting from July 1, 2018.
     The appointment of the HKSTPC Chairman is made by the Chief Executive under section 1(1)(a) of Schedule 2 to the HKSTPC Ordinance (Cap. 565). Dr Chai is a seasoned industrialist with rich experience in public service. He will succeed the incumbent HKSTPC Chairman, Mrs Fanny Law, whose term of appointment will end on June 30, 2018.
     "I am deeply grateful to Mrs Law for her tremendous contribution to the work of the HKSTPC and the development of Hong Kong's innovation and technology ecosystem," the Chief Executive, Mrs Carrie Lam, said.
     "During the past four years, Mrs Law capably steered the work of the Hong Kong Science Park as the flagship innovation and technology institution of Hong Kong. Under her leadership, a number of new initiatives and important infrastructural projects, including the Science Park expansion programme, the Data Technology Hub and the Advanced Manufacturing Centre, have been making good progress," Mrs Lam added.
     The Government also announced the appointment of eight new members and re-appointment of three serving members by the Financial Secretary, Mr Paul Chan.
     Mr Herbert Chia, Mr Donald Choi, Mr Dennis Ho, Professor Mak Tak-wah, Mr Jimmy Ng, Mr Gavin Poon, Professor Sean Tang and Mr Denis Tse are appointed as new board members of the HKSTPC.
     Mr Theodore Ma, Mr Joseph Ngai and Professor Tsui Lap-chee are re-appointed as board members of the HKSTPC.
     A Government spokesman said, "The Corporation's board of directors is a repository of strong expertise from a wide variety of technology and professional areas. With the immense experience and knowledge of board directors, we believe that they can steer the Corporation to fulfil its public mission effectively and further enhance Hong Kong's position as a hub for innovation and technology."
     The tenure of four incumbent board members, Dr Lo Wai-kwok, Professor Shyy Wei, Mr Richard Sun and Mr Billy Wong, will expire on June 30 this year.
     "The outgoing members have contributed valuably to the Corporation and the betterment of the local innovation and technology ecosystem. The achievements of the Corporation are due in no small measure to their guidance and wise counsel," the spokesman added.
     The HKSTPC, which began operation in 2001, manages the Hong Kong Science Park, three industrial estates and an InnoCentre. It provides a comprehensive range of services to cater for the needs of industry at various stages, including nurturing technology start-ups through its incubation programme, providing premises and services for applied research and development activities, and providing developed land for production.
Ends/Thursday, June 14, 2018
Issued at HKT 11:00
Today's Press Releases