Go to main content
German ensemble Artemis Quartet to perform in June
     Regarded as one of the world's leading classical quartets, the Berlin-based Artemis Quartet will visit Hong Kong to give a recital in June.
     The quartet will perform a diverse programme including Beethoven's "String Quartet No.3 in D", Schumann's "String Quartet No. 3 in A" and Janáček's "String Quartet No.1, 'The Kreutzer Sonata'" – based on a novella by Russian author Leo Tolstoy. The concert will be staged at 8pm on June 7 (Thursday) at the Concert Hall of Hong Kong City Hall.
     Named after the Greek goddess of the hunt, the Artemis Quartet was founded in 1989. Currently comprising Vineta Sareika (violin), Anthea Kreston (violin), Gregor Sigl (viola) and Eckart Runge (Cello), the quartet has earned accolades for its exceptional level of musical intensity and finesse. It has performed in many major concert halls and renowned international festivals in Europe, the United States, Asia, South America and Australia, receiving overwhelming responses from audiences and critics alike. In 2013, the Beethoven-Haus in Bonn made the quartet honorary members of the Beethoven-Haus Association for the ensemble's outstanding interpretations of Beethoven's works.
     "Encore Series: Artemis Quartet" is presented by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department. Tickets priced at $160, $220, $280 and $340 are now available at URBTIX (www.urbtix.hk). For telephone credit card bookings, please call 2111 5999. For programme enquiries and concessionary schemes, please call 2268 7321 or visit www.lcsd.gov.hk/CE/CulturalService/Programme/en/music/programs_458.html.
     A pre-concert talk entitled "A Quartet of Many Changes Plays Quartets of Many Changes" (to be conducted in Cantonese) will be held at 6.45pm at the North Committee Room, 7/F, High Block, Hong Kong City Hall. The speaker will be Ernest Wan. Admission is free with limited seats available on a first-come, first-served basis.
Ends/Monday, May 7, 2018
Issued at HKT 15:45
Today's Press Releases