Go to main content
Appointment of Hong Kong, China's representatives to ABAC
     The Government today (December 20) announced that the Chief Executive has appointed Ms Marjorie Yang as Hong Kong, China (HKC)'s representative, and Mr Nicholas Ho as alternate representative, to the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Business Advisory Council (ABAC), until the end of 2019.

     Ms Marjorie Yang is the Chairman of Esquel Group, and Mr Nicholas Ho is the Deputy Managing Director of hpa (Ho & Partners Architects Engineers & Development Consultants Limited). Meanwhile, Mr Anthony Nightingale and Dr Adrian Cheng will be retiring from ABAC as HKC's representative and alternate representative respectively.

     "I am grateful to Ms Yang and Mr Ho for agreeing to represent Hong Kong, China in ABAC. I am sure they will inject further impetus into the work of ABAC with their enthusiasm and wealth of business experience.

     "I would like to express our deep appreciation to Mr Nightingale for his wise counsel and significant contributions throughout his tenure at ABAC. I am also thankful for the support of Dr Cheng during his tenure," the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Edward Yau, said.

     ABAC was established in 1996 as a permanent business advisory body to provide advice to APEC on business sector priorities. Hong Kong, China has appointed three representatives and two alternate representatives to ABAC. Currently, the Chairman of Lan Kwai Fong Group, Dr Allan Zeman, and the Chairman of Sunwah Group, Dr Jonathan Choi, are the other two representatives. The Chairman and Managing Director of Wheelock and Company Limited, Mr Douglas Woo, is the other alternate representative.
Ends/Wednesday, December 20, 2017
Issued at HKT 17:00
Today's Press Releases