Go to main content
Appointments of Private Columbaria Appeal Board members
     The Chief Executive has appointed 28 persons, on an ad personam basis, as panel members of the Private Columbaria Appeal Board for a three-year term from September 29, 2017, to September 28, 2020. The appointments were gazetted today (September 29).

     The Private Columbaria Appeal Board was established under section 83 of the Private Columbaria Ordinance (Cap. 630).

     An Appeal Board consisting of a presiding officer (principally the Chairperson or a Deputy Chairperson) and four panel members will be constituted to hear and determine an appeal lodged by an applicant or a holder of a specified instrument who is aggrieved by a decision made by the Private Columbaria Licensing Board or the Director of Food and Environmental Hygiene referred to in section 84(1) of the Ordinance. All presiding officers of the Appeal Boards are legally qualified as defined in section 82 of the Ordinance.

     The regulation of private columbaria involves complicated and sensitive issues. There is a balanced mix of panel members from diverse backgrounds. The 28 panel members have expertise in legal, planning, land, building, surveying, architectural, engineering, community, social work, education and consumer protection fields relevant to the work of the Appeal Board, and possess experience in serving on appeal boards/tribunals and participating in public and community services.

     Amongst them, the Chairperson, Mr Ambrose Ho, and the Deputy Chairpersons, Mr Frederick Chan, Mr Kenneth Kwok and Dr William Wong, are all seasoned barristers and have rich experience in presiding over appeal boards/tribunals. Mr Ho has extensive experience in leading various statutory boards, including the Telecommunications (Competition Provisions) Appeal Board, the former Broadcasting Authority and the Communications Authority.

     The Secretary for Food and Health, Professor Sophia Chan, welcomed the panel members, and said she believes that with the leadership of the Chairman and the Deputy Chairmen and the joint efforts of panel members, the Appeal Board will rise admirably to the challenges ahead.

     The membership list of the Appeal Board for the first term is as follows:

Mr Ambrose Ho, SC

Deputy Chairpersons
Mr Frederick Chan Hing-fai
Mr Kenneth Kwok Hing-wai, SC
Dr William Wong Ming-fung, SC

Mr Chan Hak-kan
Ms Bonnie Chan Jo-ying
Mrs Pamela Chan Wong Shui
Dr Chau Chi-kwan
Mr Chiu Kam-kuen
Dr Catherine Chong Shiu-yin
Dr Choy Hung-tat
Mr Ivan Fu Chin-shing
Mr Nevin Ho Chi-lok
Mr Sunny Ho Lap-kee
Mr Lincoln Huang Ling-hang
Mr Spencer Kwan Tin-che
Mr Alex Lai Ting-hong
Miss Queenie Fiona Lau
Mr Ben Leung Chi-hung
Mr Philip Leung Kwong-hon
Mr Fred Li Wah-ming
Mr Thomas Lo Sui-sing
Mr Timothy Ma Kam-wah
Mr Aidan Tam Lon-foong
Mr Tang Chi-wang
Mr Aaron Wan Chi-keung
Mr Wu Kam-fai
Miss Vivian Yu Yuk-ying

     Information about the Appeal Board is available for public information at the website on the Appeal Board (www.pcab.hk).
Ends/Friday, September 29, 2017
Issued at HKT 14:25
Today's Press Releases