Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Dr George Lam to assume Chairmanship of HKCMCL Board of Directors

The following is issued on behalf of the Hong Kong Cyberport Management Company Limited:

     The Hong Kong Cyberport Management Company Limited (HKCMCL) today (May 30) announced the appointment of Dr George Lam and Mr Duncan Chiu to the Board of Directors from June 5, 2016, to March 31, 2018. Dr Lam will also succeed Mr Paul Chow as Chairman of the Board of Directors.

     The Secretary for Innovation and Technology, Mr Nicholas W Yang, said, "Mr Chow took up the position of the HKCMCL Board Chairman in June 2010. Under his sterling leadership, Cyberport has made significant improvements in enhancing corporate governance and nurturing technology start-ups and talents. We are most grateful to Mr Chow for his invaluable contributions to Cyberport, which has laid a solid foundation for the long-term development of Cyberport in driving Hong Kong's information and communications technology (ICT) development.

     "We also welcome Dr Lam as the new Board Chairman. Dr Lam has over 30 years of experience in information technology and financial sectors. We are confident that under his leadership, the HKCMCL will continue to perform Cyberport's mission in fostering ICT talents and start-ups and facilitating the development of Hong Kong into a global hub for innovation and technology."

     Dr Lam is a member of the Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health and the Court of the City University of Hong Kong. He has also served as a member of the Task Force on Industry Facilitation under the Digital 21 Strategy Advisory Committee, the Assessment Panel of the Small Entrepreneur Research Assistance Programme under the Innovation and Technology Fund, the New Business Committee of the Hong Kong Financial Services Development Council and the Legal Aid Services Council.

     Mr Chiu is an experienced investor in the technology sector and participates actively in a number of information technology industry associations.

     The HKCMCL has also re-appointed six serving Directors for the period from June 5, 2016, to March 31, 2018. The re-appointed Directors are Mr Alfred Wong Kwok-kuen, Mr Gabriel Pang Tsz-kit, Ms Rosanna Choi Yi-tak, Ms Jeny Yeung Mei-chun, Professor Philip Chan Ching-ho and Mr Humphrey Choi Chor-ching.

     The HKCMCL Board of Directors is composed of 14 Directors. The full membership with effect from June 5, 2016, is as follows:

Dr George Lam (Chairman)
Mr Douglas So Cheung-tak
Mr Peter Yan King-shun
Mr Alfred Wong Kwok-kuen
Mr Gabriel Pang Tsz-kit
Ms Rosanna Choi Yi-tak
Ms Jeny Yeung Mei-chun
Dr Edwin Lee Kan-hing
Professor Philip Chan Ching-ho
Mr Humphrey Choi Chor-ching
Mr Lau Chun-kong
Mr Duncan Chiu
Mr Cheuk Wing-hing, Permanent Secretary for Innovation and Technology
Ms Elizabeth Tse Man-yee, Permanent Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury (Treasury)

     The HKCMCL is one of the three private and wholly owned companies set up by the Government under the Financial Secretary Incorporated to oversee the development, management and operation of the Cyberport Project. The Board of Directors provides policy and strategic guidance to the HKCMCL on its business development, as well as oversight over corporate performance and governance.

Ends/Monday, May 30, 2016
Issued at HKT 16:11


Print this page