Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointments to Statistics Advisory Board

     The Government announced today (May 30) that the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury has appointed members to the Statistics Advisory Board for a new term of two years from June 1, 2016, to May 31, 2018.

     The Statistics Advisory Board of the new term includes 12 non-official members, nine of whom are serving members and three newly appointed members. The three new members are Ms Karen Chan Ka-yin (Executive Director, German Pool Group Company Ltd), Mrs Cheung Ang Siew-mei (Executive Director, Christian Action) and Ms Nicole Yuen Shuk-kam (Managing Director and Vice Chairman, Greater China, Credit Suisse (Hong Kong) Ltd).

     The Commissioner for Census and Statistics, Mr Leslie Tang said, "Members of the Statistics Advisory Board are established professionals in different disciplines. Their diverse background will provide the Census and Statistics Department with invaluable insights and help ensure that its statistical work will continue to meet the evolving needs of our community."

     Mr Tang added, "We are grateful to the five outgoing members, Ms Alexa Chow Yee-ping, Ms Margaret Fong Shun-man, Mr Tse Kam-keung, Ms Wendy Yung Wen-yee and Professor Alfred Chan Cheung-ming, for their unfailing support and wise counsel to the Statistics Advisory Board that has helped foster the development of the government's statistical work over the past years."

     The Statistics Advisory Board is an advisory body established in 1972 to advise the Commissioner for Census and Statistics on matters pertaining to official statistical work. Its membership is broadly based and consists of professionals from the business sector, the academia and the community, to assist the Commissioner in integrating views of data users, data suppliers and statisticians.

     Following is the membership of the Statistics Advisory Board for the new term from June 1, 2016, to May 31, 2018:

Chairman (Ex officio)
Commissioner for Census and Statistics

Official members
Director of Planning (or representative)
Government Economist (or representative)
Representative from the Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau

Non-official members
Dr Law Chi-kwong
Ms Christina Law Sau-mui
Ms Clara Lau Wai-ping
Mr Anthony Leung Ming-tim
Professor Leung Siu-fai
Mr Patrick Ting Siu-yin
Professor Tsui Kwok-leung
Mr Jason Wong Chun-tat
Mr Augustine Wong Ho-ming
Ms Karen Chan Ka-yin *
Mrs Cheung Ang Siew-mei *
Ms Nicole Yuen Shuk-kam *

* newly appointed

Ends/Monday, May 30, 2016
Issued at HKT 14:31


Print this page