Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointments to Women's Commission

     The Government today (January 8) announced the appointment of two new members to the Women's Commission (WoC) and re-appointment of five incumbent members. All the appointments will take effect from January 15, 2016.

     The two new members are Ms Scarlett Pong Oi-lan and Dr Loletta So Kit-ying.

     Ms Pong is a registered pharmacist and a Sha Tin District Council member. She was previously a member of the Rehabilitation Advisory Committee. She has rich experience in the community and social welfare work.

     Dr So is currently Deputy Hospital Chief Executive and Consultant of Internal Medicine in the Pamela Youde Nethersole Eastern Hospital. She was the first female President of the Hong Kong Public Doctors' Association. Dr So is also now the Convenor of the Hong Kong Women Doctors Association (for Internal Medicine).

     The five re-appointed incumbent members are Professor Shirley Hung Suet-lin, Ms Angelina Kwan, Ms Leona Lam Wai-ling, Mrs Miranda Leung Chan Che-ming and Ms Wong Shu-ming.

     The seven newly appointed and re-appointed members will serve WoC for a term of two years.

     The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung, welcomed the appointments and re-appointments. He said, "Coming from a diverse background, the newly appointed and re-appointed members have vast experience in their professions and community services. I am confident that they will make valuable contributions to the work of the WoC and to realising its mission 'to enable women in Hong Kong to fully realise their due status, rights and opportunities in all aspects of life'."

     Mr Cheung thanked the two outgoing members, Ms Teresa Au Pui-yee and Dr Tang Chang-hung for their active participation in and valuable contribution to the work of the WoC in the past years.

     The WoC was set up on January 15, 2001 as a central mechanism to promote the well-being and interests of women in Hong Kong. It plays a strategic role in advising the Government on policies and initiatives on women's issues.
     Following is the membership list of the WoC with effect from January 15, 2016:

Non-official members

Mrs Stella Lau Kun Lai-kuen (Chairperson)
Professor Cecilia Chan Lai-wan
Ms Aruna Gurung
Professor Shirley Hung Suet-lin
Dr Maggie Koong May-kay
Ms Angelina Kwan
Ms Leona Lam Wai-ling
Dr Trisha Leahy
Mrs Miranda Leung Chan Che-ming
Ms Juan Leung Chung-yan
Ms Yolanda Ng Yuen-ting
Ms Scarlett Pong Oi-lan
Dr Loletta So Kit-ying
Mr Philip Tsai Wing-chung
Ms Sandy Wong Hang-yee
Ms Catherine Wong Pui-yee
Ms Wong Shu-ming
Ms Wong Siu-wah
Mr Robert Wong Yao-wing
Ms Yvonne Yeung Kin-ha
Ms Rabi Yim Chor-pik

Ex-officio members

Permanent Secretary for Labour and Welfare or representative (Vice-Chairperson)
Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs or representative
Director of Social Welfare or representative

Ends/Friday, January 8, 2016
Issued at HKT 11:45


Print this page