Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointments to Hong Kong Council for Accreditation of Academic and Vocational Qualifications announced

     The Education Bureau today (July 24) announced the appointment of Dr Alex Chan Siu-kun as Chairman of the Hong Kong Council for Accreditation of Academic and Vocational Qualifications (HKCAAVQ) for two years with effect from October 1, 2015.

     Dr Chan is the Managing Director of Applied Technology Integration Limited, and the Vice-Chairman of the HKCAAVQ. He has served the HKCAAVQ since October 2009, first as a Member and then as Vice-Chairman from October 2011. He is also a past president of the Hong Kong Institution of Engineers.

     The Secretary for Education, Mr Eddie Ng Hak-kim, said, "Dr Chan is familiar with the operation of the HKCAAVQ and is highly dedicated to its work. With his strong commitment and capability I am confident that Dr Chan will provide able leadership for the Council and offer invaluable contributions to the development of the quality assurance mechanism underpinning the implementation of the Hong Kong Qualifications Framework (HKQF)."

     The Education Bureau has also appointed Mr Roger Thomas Best as the new Vice-Chairman of the HKCAAVQ as well as seven new members, and re-appointed seven serving members to the HKCAAVQ for a period of two years.

     Mr Ng thanked the outgoing Chairman, Mr Martin Liao Cheung-kong. "We would like to express our heartfelt gratitude to Mr Liao for his contributions to the HKCAAVQ. He has served the former Hong Kong Council for Academic Accreditation (HKCAA), followed by the HKCAAVQ, since 1999. The Council has benefited greatly from his insightful counsel, strong leadership and tremendous contributions over the past 16 years. As a result, the credibility and professionalism of the HKCAAVQ have been enhanced significantly. His dedication to the work of the HKCAAVQ is very much appreciated," he said.

     Mr Ng also thanked the outgoing members, namely Dr David Ho Chi-shing, Professor Arthur Mak Fuk-tat, Ms Aileen Ponton and Professor Mala Singh, for their invaluable contributions and sterling service in the work of the HKCAAVQ.

     The new membership list of the HKCAAVQ with effect from October 1, 2015, is as follows:

Dr Alex Chan Siu-kun

Mr Roger Thomas Best

Re-appointed members
Mr Albert Chow Hing-pong
Ms Ann Doolette
Professor Hau Kit-tai
Dr Lam Ching-choi
Professor Paul Lam Kwan-sing
Ms Carrie Leung Ka-lai
Professor Andrew Walder

Newly appointed members
Mr James Calleja
Mr Francis Cheng Cho-ying
Ms Jane von Dadelszen
Dr Bryan Maguire
Professor Dennis Ng Kee-pui
Professor Paul Tam Kwong-hang
Mr Wilfred Wong Kam-pui

Other serving non-official members
Professor Chetwyn Chan Che-hin
Professor Pong Ting-chuen

Ex-officio members
Executive Director of the HKCAAVQ
Permanent Secretary for Education or her representative

     The HKCAAVQ was formerly known as the HKCAA. The HKCAA was established in 1990 as an independent statutory body to provide authoritative advice on the academic standards of degree programmes in Hong Kong's higher education institutions. In 2007, the Council was reconstituted under the HKCAAVQ Ordinance (Chapter 1150), also taking on the statutory roles as the Accreditation Authority and Qualifications Register (QR) Authority under the HKQF. The HKCAAVQ accredits academic and vocational programmes to ensure that they meet minimum quality standards for entry into the QR. In addition to its statutory roles, it also assesses non-local qualifications of individuals and undertakes research and consultancy work in education and training.

Ends/Friday, July 24, 2015
Issued at HKT 15:17


Print this page