Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
World-class pianist Imogen Cooper to perform in June

     Recognised worldwide as a pianist of virtuosity and poetic poise, Imogen Cooper will perform a recital in Hong Kong in June.

     The recital will be held at 8pm on June 18 (Thursday) at the Concert Hall of the Hong Kong City Hall. The programme will include Chopin's "Barcarolle in F-sharp, Op. 60", Schumann's "Humoreske in B-flat, Op. 20", and Schubert's "12 German Dances, D. 790" and "Piano Sonata No. 20 in A, D. 959".

     Cooper has established a reputation as one of the finest interpreters of the classical repertoire and has enjoyed a widespread international career. She has appeared with orchestras including the New York Philharmonic, the Vienna Philharmonic, the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, the Budapest Festival Orchestra and the NHK Symphony Orchestra. Her recital appearances have included performances in New York, Tokyo, Paris, Vienna, Prague and London.

     Cooper was made a Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire in the Queen's New Year Honours in 2007 and was the recipient of an award from the Royal Philharmonic Society in the following year. In 1997 she was awarded an honorary membership of the Royal Academy of Music and was made a Doctor of Music at the University of Exeter in 1999.

     "Piano Recital by Imogen Cooper" is part of the programmes in the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) "Great Music 2015" series. Tickets priced at $150, $200, $260 and $320 are now available at URBTIX. Half-price tickets are available for senior citizens aged 60 or above, people with disabilities and their minders, full-time students and Comprehensive Social Security Assistance (CSSA) recipients (limited tickets for full-time students and CSSA recipients are available on a first-come, first-served basis). A maximum discount of 20 per cent is offered for the "Great Music 2015" package discount scheme. Please refer to the programme leaflet, the series brochure or the LCSD website for details.

     Highlights of the "Great Music 2015" series include "The Beethoven Journey" by the Mahler Chamber Orchestra (May 3), "Concert by the Borodin Quartet" (May 29), "Concert by the Russian National Orchestra" (June 24 and 25), "Piano Recital by Nelson Freire" (September 8) and "Concert by the Hagen Quartet" (October 6). The series also includes other attractive music events. Details will be announced later on the LCSD website.

     For enquiries on programmes, please call 2268 7321 or visit For telephone credit card bookings, please call 2111 5999. Tickets can also be booked online at

Ends/Friday, April 24, 2015
Issued at HKT 11:02


Print this page