Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Recognition of Prior Learning mechanism helps practitioners determine starting point for learning and progression (with photos)

The following is issued on behalf of the Qualifications Framework Secretariat:

     The Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) mechanism provides an alternative pathway for experienced practitioners to obtain formal recognition of the experience, skills and knowledge already acquired under the Qualifications Framework (QF), the Under Secretary for Education, Mr Kevin Yeung, said today (November 26) at the RPL sharing session.

     He said that the recognition assisted practitioners to determine their starting point for learning and progression, and reduced duplication in training for the same skills and knowledge.

     "In the past, academic qualifications were considered as the only application requirement for higher level programmes by many training providers. However, with the continuous efforts of the Industry Training Advisory Committees (ITACs) and the QF Secretariat in recent years, we are delighted to see that many training providers have now accepted RPL qualifications as one of the application requirements for their courses, thus providing practitioners with more learning and progression pathways to attain the goal of lifelong learning," Mr Yeung said.
     At present, the RPL mechanism has been implemented in eight industries, namely printing and publishing, watch and clock, hairdressing, property management, jewellery, automotive, logistics and Chinese catering under the QF. The import and export, beauty, electrical and mechanical services and retail industries are also actively developing the RPL mechanism for their industries.

     "With more industries joining in and enhanced public awareness and recognition of the QF and the RPL mechanism, we envisage that the number of applications for RPL will continue to rise," Mr Yeung said.

     He said that the RPL mechanism had attracted nearly 9 000 applications, with some 17 000 Statements of Attainment awarded at QF levels 1 to 4 since its launch.  The successful rate of application is over 99 per cent.

     Today's RPL sharing session organised by the QF Secretariat aims to consolidate the experiences of the eight industries that have implemented RPL. Their experiences will serve as a reference for implementing RPL in other industries in future.

     Representatives of the watch and clock, automotive, Chinese catering, hairdressing, jewellery, property management, logistics, printing and publishing industries and training providers were invited to the sharing session to talk about their experiences. Also present were the representatives of ITACs, employers, personnel responsible for human resource management, practitioners, and representatives from training providers. Over 300 persons attended the session.

     Implemented in 2008, the QF is a seven-level hierarchy covering qualifications in the academic, vocational and continuing education sectors, providing accessible articulation pathways for lifelong learning. RPL is a mechanism under the QF that aims to enable practitioners of various backgrounds with formal recognition of knowledge, skills and experience already acquired. Members of the public can visit the RPL website ( for further information.

Ends/Tuesday, November 26, 2013
Issued at HKT 16:11


Photo Photo Photo
Print this page