Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointments to Education Commission announced

     The Government today (December 28) announced the appointment of the Chairman of the Committee on Self-financing Post-secondary Education as an ex-officio member of the Education Commission (EC), and the appointment of Mr James Lam Yat-fung as a non-official member of the EC. Both appointments will take effect from January 1, 2013.

     "Mr Tim Lui Tim-leung, in his capacity as the Chairman of the Committee on Self-financing Post-secondary Education, will serve on the EC as an ex-officio member starting from January 1, 2013. The appointment of the Chairman of the Committee as an ex-officio EC member will help co-ordinate the development of the basic education sector with other different education sectors. With his wealth of experience in public service including the higher education sector, Mr Lui will bring insightful views to the EC deliberations," a spokesman for the Education Bureau said.

     "In tandem, Mr James Lam Yat-fung, the Chairman of the Hong Kong Subsidised Secondary Schools Council, has been appointed as a non-official member in his personal capacity for a two-year term with effect from January 1, 2013. Given Mr Lam's rich experience in the education sector, he will provide valuable advice and contribute to the work of the EC," he added.

     The spokesman also thanked the outgoing member, Mr Liu Ah-chuen, for his valuable contribution to the work of the EC.

     The new EC membership list with effect from January 1, 2013, is as follows:

Dr Moses Cheng Mo-chi

Ex-officio Members:
Mrs Cherry Tse, Permanent Secretary for Education
Mr Cheung Pak-hong, Chairman, Advisory Committee on Teacher Education and Qualifications
Mr Tim Lui Tim-leung, Chairman, Committee on Self-financing Post-secondary Education
Professor Kenneth Young, Chairman, Curriculum Development Council
Mr Rock Chen Chung-nin, Chairman, Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority Council
Mr Duffy Wong Chun-nam, Chairman, Quality Education Fund Steering Committee
Professor Cheng Kai-ming, Chairman, Standing Committee on Language Education and Research
Mr Edward Cheng Wai-sun, Chairman, University Grants Committee
Mr Clement Chen Cheng-jen, Chairman, Vocational Training Council

Non-official Members:
Mr Walter Chan Kar-lok
Ms Dilys Chau Suet-fung
Mr James Lam Yat-fung
Professor Lee Wing-on
Mrs Connie Lo Ng Wai-fun
Ms Shirley Marie Therese Loo
Ms Ng Yin-kam
Mr Sin Kim-wai
Mr Tang Fei
Dr Gordon Tsui Luen-on
Mr Wong Hak-lim

Ends/Friday, December 28, 2012
Issued at HKT 15:42


Print this page