Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Outbound Travel Alert System extended to cover 85 countries and regions

     The coverage of the Outbound Travel Alert (OTA) System has today (December 29) been extended to include Bangladesh, Gibraltar, Oman, Saudi Arabia and Serbia, increasing the number of countries and regions covered by the System from 80 to 85.

     A Security Bureau spokesperson said, "In mid-February this year, the Security Bureau announced it would review the coverage of the OTA System regularly. Following a recent review, the Security Bureau decided to extend the coverage from 80 countries and regions to 85, in order to provide Hong Kong residents with information on the outbound travel safety risks of more places. The newly added places are popular tourist and business destinations for Hong Kong residents."

     After assessing the situation of the five newly added places, the Security Bureau issued an Amber OTA for Bangladesh. Those who plan to visit the country or are already there should monitor the situation and exercise caution.
     The spokesperson reminded Hong Kong residents to take heed of the OTA webpage of the Security Bureau before travel. The OTA webpage of the Security Bureau is Residents outside Hong Kong who need assistance may call the 24-hour hotline (852) 1868 of the Assistance to Hong Kong Residents Unit of the Immigration Department.

Ends/Thursday, December 29, 2011
Issued at HKT 18:11


Print this page