Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointments of Chairman and Non-Executive Directors to SFC

     The Chief Executive has re-appointed Dr Eddy Fong Ching as the Chairman of the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) for another year from October 20, 2011 to October 19, 2012.  The appointment is made under the Securities and Futures Ordinance (SFO).

     Announcing the appointment today (September 29), the Financial Secretary, Mr John C Tsang said, "Dr Fong has been the Chairman of the SFC since October 2006.  In the past five years, he has played a pivotal role in leading the SFC to maintain and promote a fair, transparent and orderly operation of Hong Kong's securities and futures markets.  We look forward to Dr Fong's continued contribution in the SFC in the coming year."

     In parallel, the Financial Secretary has, with the authority delegated from the Chief Executive under the SFO, re-appointed Mr Chan Kam-lam and Mr Lawrence Lee Kam-hung as Non-Executive Directors to the SFC for a term of two years, from November 15, 2011 to November 14, 2013.

     Mr Chan and Mr Lee have been serving as Non-Executive Directors of the SFC since November 2007 and November 2009 respectively.  "Mr Chan and Mr Lee were dedicated to promoting good corporate governance of the SFC during their past tenure. We are confident that they would continue to provide invaluable advice on the work of the SFC," Mr Tsang said.

     Besides the Chairman, the SFC has seven Non-Executive Directors.  The other five Non-Executive Directors of the SFC are Professor Leonard Cheng Kwok-hon, Mr Anderson Chow Ka-ming, Mrs Angelina Lee Wong Pui-ling, Mr Carlson Tong and Mr Wong Kai-man.

Ends/Thursday, September 29, 2011
Issued at HKT 16:41


Print this page