Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointments to Quality Education Fund Steering Committe

    The Education Bureau today (December 31) announced the re-appointment of the following four members to the Quality Education Fund Steering Committee (QEFSC):

* Mr Patrick Chan Kwok-wai, executive director and chief financial officer of a local bank
* Miss Jane Curzon Lo, barrister
* Mrs Rita Mansukhani Au Hay-lun, principal of a special school
* Mr Duffy Wong Chun-nam, solicitor

     Mrs Mansukhani is appointed for a term from January 1, 2008, to January 15, 2010, while the rest are appointed for a term of two years from January 16, 2008, to January 15, 2010.

     "I am confident that with the above appointments, the Quality Education Fund (QEF) will continue with its excellent work in the promotion of quality school education in Hong Kong," the Secretary for Education, Mr Michael Suen, said.

     The QEF was established in early 1998 with a capital of $5 billion to fund community initiatives which promote quality education in Hong Kong. Up to the end of the 2006/07 school year, the fund has supported 6,931 projects with a total grant amounting to $3.476 billion.

     The QEFSC advises the Government on the policies and operation of the QEF. It also makes recommendations to the fund's trustee on the award of grants.

     A full list of QEFSC members is as follows:

Mr Pang Yiu-kai

Mr Stephen Chan Chi-wan
Mr Patrick Chan Kwok-wai
Prof Horace Ip Ho-shing
Mr Antony Ip Sing-piu
Ms Maria Lee Lai-wan
Miss Jane Curzon Lo
Mrs Rita Mansukhani Au Hay-lun
Mr Justein Wong Chun
Mr Duffy Wong Chun-nam
Mr Wong Kwan-yu
Ms Lisa Yip Sau-wah

Ex-officio member:
Deputy Secretary for Education, Mrs Betty Ip

Ends/Monday, December 31, 2007
Issued at HKT 15:34


Print this page