Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article Government Homepage
Appointments to Social Welfare Advisory Committee

    The Government today (December 1) announced the appointment of four new members and the re-appointment of the chairman and seven incumbent members to the Social Welfare Advisory Committee (SWAC).  All appointments are for two years with effect from today.

     The four new members are: Mr Bunny Chan Chung-bun, Mr Kwan Chuk-fai, Dr Lam Ching-choi and Dr Leung Wing-tai.

     Mr Chan is Chairman of the Kwun Tong District Council and a member of the Commission on Youth and the Commission on Strategic Development.  He was also the Chairman of Pok Oi Hospital in 2003-04.  Mr Chan has worked in close co-operation with the Social Welfare Department on various policies and initiatives.

     Mr Kwan is the General Manager (Corporate Communication) of NWS Holdings Ltd.  He is currently a member of the Community Investment and Inclusion Fund Committee and has experience working with the welfare sector.

     Dr Lam is the Chief Executive Officer of the Haven of Hope Christian Service, a subvented non-governmental organisation (NGO) with a joint focus on welfare and health services.  He is also a member of the Elderly Commission and the Community Investment and Inclusion Fund Committee.

     Dr Leung is the Chief Secretary General of Breakthrough Limited which is a non-subvented NGO.  He is also a council member of two local universities with strong commitment to youth work in Hong Kong.  He was also a member of the former Board of Education and the Assessment Sub-Committee of the Quality Education Fund.

     Meanwhile, the Chairman and seven incumbent members have been re-appointed.  They are: Mr Wilfred Wong Ying-wai,  Dr Stephen Chow Chun-kay, Mr Quentin Fong King-sang, Mr Herman Hui Chung-shing, Dr Benjamin Lai Sau-shun, Mr Vincent Lo Wing-sang, Mr Tung Chi-fat, and Ms Lisa Yip Sau-wah.

     The Secretary for Health, Welfare and Food, Dr York Chow, welcomed the appointment of the new members and the re-appointment of the chairman and incumbent members.  He looked forward to their contribution to the development of welfare policy issues.

     Dr Chow also thanked the two outgoing members íV Mrs Cheung Ang Siew-mei; and Mr Keith Lam Hon-keung - for their valuable advice to the SWAC during their term of appointment.

     The functions of the SWAC are to keep social welfare services under continuous review, and to advise the Government on all matters of social welfare policy.

     Following is the membership list of the SWAC as from December 1, 2006:

Mr Wilfred Wong Ying-wing, JP

Mr Bunny Chan Chung-bun, BBS, JP
Dr Stephen Chow Chun-kay, BBS, JP
Dr Miranda Chung Chan Lai-foon
Ms Christine Fang Meng-sang, JP
Mr Quentin Fong King-sang
Mr Herman Hui Chung-shing, MH, JP
Mr Kwan Chuk-fai, MH
Dr Benjamin Lai Sau-shun
Dr Lam Ching-choi, JP
Prof Japhet Sebastian Law
Dr Leung Wing-tai
Mr Vincent Lo Wing-sang, BBS, JP
Mr Timothy Ma Kam-wah
Prof Tang Kwong-leung
Mr Tung Chi-fat
Dr Jimmy Wong Chi-ho, BBS, JP
Ms Marina Wong Yu-pok, JP
Mr Silva Yeung Tak-wah, JP
Ms Lisa Yip Sau-wah

Ends/Friday, December 1, 2006
Issued at HKT 10:40