Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article Government Homepage
Appointments to the Employees Retraining Board

    The Government has announced today (March 23) the re-appointment of Mr Michael Tien Puk-sun as Chairman and Dr Ng Tat-lun as Vice-Chairman of the Employees Retraining Board (ERB). The Government has also announced the appointment of the following 13 people as members of the ERB:

Representatives of Employers:
     Mr Anthony Au Wai-hung
     Mr Yeung Ka-shing
     Mr Stephen Yuen Ching-bor
     Mr Paul Chong Kin-lit

Representatives of Employees:
     Mr Cheung Pak-chi
     Mr Poon Siu-ping
     The Hon Lau Chin-shek
     Ms Juan Leung Chung-yan

Persons connected with Vocational Training and Retraining or Manpower Planning:
     Ms Virginia Choi Wai-kam
     Professor Roland Chin
     Executive Director of Vocational Training Council

Government Representatives:
     Commissioner for Labour
     Deputy Secretary for Education and Manpower

     All appointments are for one year, from April 1, 2006 to March 31, 2007.

     The Secretary for Education and Manpower, Professor Arthur KC Li, welcomed the re-appointment of Mr Tien and Dr Ng.

     "There are two newly appointed members to the board, namely employer representative, Mr Paul Chong Kin-lit, and employee representative, Ms Juan Leung Chung-yan. I am confident that with the support of all members, the ERB will continue to provide efficient retraining services to assist the unemployed to meet the changing labour market requirements in the face of the ongoing economic restructuring," he said

     Professor Li also thanked outgoing members, the Hon Kwong Chi-kin and Mr Jonathan Choi Koon-shum, for their contribution to the work of the ERB.

     The ERB is a statutory body established in 1992 under the Employees Retraining Ordinance. It is responsible for providing retraining courses and related placement services. Its main clients are the unemployed aged 30 or above with secondary education level or lower. Over 100,000 retraining places are planned for the financial year 2006-2007.

Ends/Thursday, March 23, 2006
Issued at HKT 14:00