Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article Government Homepage
Appointments to Film Development Committee

The Government today (October 18) announced the appointment of 11 non-official members to the newly established Film Development Committee (FDC) for a two-year term  from November 1, 2005.

They are Mr Jack So Chak-kwong (chairman), Mr Chan Wing-mei, Mr Felix Fong Wo, Mr Crucindo Hung Cho-sing, Mr Bill Kong Chi-keung, Ms Terry Lai Siu-ping, Mr Peter Lam Kin-ngok, Mr John Sham Kin-fun, Ms Nansun Shi, Mr Suen Kwok-lam and Mr Raymond Wong Pak-ming.

The Permanent Secretary for Commerce, Industry and Technology (Communications and Technology) will serve as vice-chairman, while the Secretary for Home Affairs or his representative and the Executive Director of Hong Kong Trade Development Council or his representative will serve as the ex-official members of the Committee.

Welcoming the appointments, the Secretary for Commerce, Industry and Technology (SCIT), Mr John Tsang, said the film industry was a major creative sector in Hong Kong. The Government was committed to promoting the long-term development of the industry.  

Headed by a non-official chairman, the FDC is tasked to advise the Government on all matters relating to the development of the film industry in Hong Kong, and to promote Hong Kong films in the Mainland and overseas markets.

:A priority task of the committee will be to critically review the film industry, identify opportunities, articulate a vision and formulate a clear plan for the medium and longer term development of the industry," Mr Tsang said.

:The majority of the committee members are active and prominent members of the film industry. I am confident that their sound experience and professional expertise not only will command the trust and respect of the industry, but also enrich the deliberation of the Committee.  

:I am also pleased to know that Mr So has agreed to take up the challenge. With his eminent track record in the public and private sectors, he is highly suitable for the chairmanship,; Mr Tsang said.

The FDC will replace the existing Film Services Advisory Committee (FSAC), which was established in 1998 and was chaired by the SCIT.  

:I wish to extend my sincere gratitude to the members of the FSAC for their valuable contributions in the past years.  Their professional input and advice have greatly facilitated the Government in formulating policies and measures to promote the film industry,; Mr Tsang said.

Following are the brief biographical notes of the non-official members:

Mr Jack So Chak-kwong (Chairman)
Mr So is Deputy Chairman and Group Managing Director of PCCW Ltd.  He has held various posts in the securities, finance and property industries.  He served as Executive Director of the Hong Kong Trade Development Council from 1985 to 1992 and as Chairman and Chief Executive of MTR Corporation Ltd. from 1995 to 2003.

Mr Chan Wing-mei
Mr Chan is the Director of Newport Entertainment Company Ltd. He is currently the President of Hong Kong Theatres Association.

Mr Felix Fong Wo
Mr Fong is a solicitor by profession and has a keen interest in film financing.  He is now serving as Vice-chairman of the Liquor Licensing Board.

Mr Crucindo Hung Cho-sing
Mr Hung is the General Manager of Delon International Film Incorporation.  He is also the Chairman of the Hong Kong, Kowloon and New Territories Motion Picture Industry Association.

Mr Bill Kong Chi-keung
Mr Kong is the Executive Director of Edko Films Ltd.  He is a dedicated and energetic film producer and has successfully brought Hong Kong and Chinese films to the international arena.

Ms Terry Lai Siu-ping
Ms Lai has more than 30 years・ experience in film distribution. In recent years her business is expanded to include video distribution.

Mr Peter Lam Kin-ngok
Mr Lam is engaged in hotel and tourism, garment, real estate as well as entertainment business.  He is the Chairman of the newly established Hong Kong Chamber of Films.

Mr John Sham Kin-fun
Mr Sham is both an actor and a producer.  He is now the Executive Secretary of the Federation of Hong Kong Filmmakers.

Ms Nansun Shi
Ms Shi has extensive experience in the television and film industries, including production, marketing, distribution and promotion.  She is now the Executive Director of Film Workshop Co Ltd.

Mr Suen Kwok-lam
Mr Suen is an Executive Director of Henderson Land Development Company Ltd.  He is also President of Hong Kong Association of Property Management Companies.

Mr Raymond Wong Pak-ming
Mr Wong is an experienced director, scriptwriter as well as actor.  He is now the Chairman of Movie Producers and Distributors Association of Hong Kong.

Ends/Tuesday, October 18, 2005
Issued at HKT 11:24


Print this page