Go to main content
Appointments to Elderly Commission
     The Government announced today (July 21) the appointment of seven new members and the re-appointment of eight incumbent members to the Elderly Commission. All the appointments will take effect from July 30, 2017 for a term of two years.

     The seven new members of the Elderly Commission are Ms Maggie Chan Mei-kit, Ms Tammy Chan Yee-ching, Mr Chua Hoi-wai, Ms Diana Chung Wai-yee, Ms Grace Li Fai, Ms Alexandra Lo Dak-wai and Dr Pang Fei-chau.

     Ms Maggie Chan Mei-kit is the Director of Social Work Services of Caritas Hong Kong. She is a member of the Committee on Elder Academy Development Foundation.

     Ms Tammy Chan Yee-ching is the Chairperson of the Salvation Army Carer Association. She is a member of the Lump Sum Grant Steering Committee.

     Mr Chua Hoi-wai is the Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Council of Social Service. He is a member of the Commission on Poverty, the Hong Kong Housing Authority, the Land and Development Advisory Committee and the Lump Sum Grant Steering Committee.

     Ms Diana Chung Wai-yee is the Head of Corporate Audit & Risk Management of the Hong Kong and China Gas Company Limited. She is also a certified public accountant. Ms Chung is a member of the Advisory Committee on Enhancing Employment of People with Disabilities, and the Innovation and Technology Fund General Support Programme Vetting Committee.

     Ms Grace Li Fai is the Chairperson of the Elderly Services Association of Hong Kong.

     Ms Alexandra Lo Dak-wai is a Consultant of Robertsons Solicitors and Notaries. She is also a registered Chinese medicine practitioner. Ms Lo is a member of the Fight Crime Committee and the Chinese Medicine Practice Subcommittee under the Chinese Medicine Development Committee.

     Dr Pang Fei-chau is the Hospital Chief Executive of Grantham Hospital.  He is a specialist in geriatric medicine.

     Eight incumbent members, namely Mr Cheung Leong, Mr Victor Lam Hoi-cheung, Professor Diana Lee Tze-fan, Mrs Susan So Chan Wai-hang, Dr Doris Tse Man-wah, Mr Wong Kit-loong, Mr Kenneth Wong Tai-lun and Dr Yeung Ka-ching, have been re-appointed.

     The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Dr Law Chi-kwong, welcomed the above appointments. He said, "With a rapidly aging population, the Elderly Commission plays an increasingly important role in advising the Government on the policies and initiatives relating to elderly people’s well-being.

     "As in the past, we will fully consider the valuable advice of the Elderly Commission in devising policies for our elderly."

     Dr Law also thanked the outgoing members, namely Mrs Lilian Chan Lui Ling-yee, Ms Maggie Chan Man-ki, Miss Grace Chan Man-yee, Mr Henry Shie Wai-hung, Dr Tung Sau-ying, Mr Jackson Wong Fan-foung and Mrs Doris Wong Wong Yu-sum, for their sterling contributions to the Elderly Commission.

     The Elderly Commission was established in 1997. Its main task is to provide advice to the Government in the formulation of a comprehensive policy in caring for elders.

     The membership list of the Elderly Commission with effect from July 30 is as follows:

Dr Lam Ching-choi
Non-official members
Ms Maggie Chan Mei-kit
Ms Tammy Chan Yee-ching
Mr Cheung Leong
Mr Chua Hoi-wai
Ms Diana Chung Wai-yee
Mr Victor Lam Hoi-cheung
Professor Diana Lee Tze-fan
Ms Grace Li Fai
Ms Alexandra Lo Dak-wai
Dr Vivian Lou Wei-qun
Dr Pang Fei-chau
Mrs Susan So Chan Wai-hang
Dr Doris Tse Man-wah
Mr Wong Kit-loong
Mr Kenneth Wong Tai-lun
Dr Yeung Ka-ching

Official members
Secretary for Food and Health or representative
Secretary for Labour and Welfare or representative
Secretary for Transport and Housing/Director of Housing or representative
Director of Health or representative
Director of Social Welfare or representative
Chief Executive, Hospital Authority or representative
Ends/Friday, July 21, 2017
Issued at HKT 12:00
Today's Press Releases