Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Over $40 million released for disaster relief outside Hong Kong in 2014-15

     The Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government released $47.21 million from the Disaster Relief Fund in the year 2014-15 to support relief organisations in providing emergency relief to victims of major disasters occurring outside Hong Kong.

     Grants amounting to $47.21 million were disbursed for 15 projects carried out by seven relief organisations for providing relief to earthquake victims in Yunnan Province and flood victims in Hunan Province, Guizhou Province, Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region, Jammu and Kashmir of India, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, and Malawi. The seven relief organisations are Amity Foundation, Hong Kong; CEDAR Fund; Oxfam Hong Kong; the Salvation Army; Save the Children Hong Kong; Correctional Services Department Credit Union Education Fund and World Vision Hong Kong.

     Relief organisations receiving grants from the Disaster Relief Fund are required to submit evaluation reports and audited accounts on the use of the grants to the Government after the completion of the relief projects.
     The Disaster Relief Fund, administered by the Administration Wing under the Chief Secretary for Administration's Office, provides an effective channel for the Government to respond swiftly to international appeals for humanitarian aid in relief of disasters that occur outside Hong Kong. The annual report on the activities of the Fund for the year 2014-15 has been uploaded to the website of the Administration Wing at .

     The Disaster Relief Fund is topped up to $50 million at the start of each financial year. The Government will apply to the Finance Committee of the Legislative Council for additional provision as necessary during the financial year, depending on calls for relief and the size of the Fund balance and commitments.

     The Disaster Relief Fund Advisory Committee is responsible for advising the Government on the policy and practices regarding disbursement of funds for disaster relief and on specific amounts of grants made to the applicants, as well as monitoring the use of grants.

     The Committee is chaired by the Chief Secretary for Administration. At present, members include Mr Cheng Yiu-tong, Ms Starry Lee, Dr Priscilla Leung, Mr Cheung Kwok-che, Mr Leo Kung, Dr Tik Chi-yuen, the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury and the Secretary for Labour and Welfare.

Ends/Wednesday, December 30, 2015
Issued at HKT 11:09


Print this page