About Us


  • Introduction

Planning System in Hong Kong

Town Planning in Hong Kong aims to promote the health, safety, convenience and general welfare of the community through the process of guiding and controlling the development and use of land, and to bring about a better organized, efficient and desirable place to live and work.

The Town Planning Board (the Board) is a statutory body established under section 2 of the Town Planning Ordinance (the Ordinance) with a view to promoting the health, safety, convenience and general welfare of the community through the systematic preparation of plans for the layout of such areas of Hong Kong as the Chief Executive may direct, as well as the types of buildings suitable for erection therein.

In accordance with the Town Planning Regulations, the Board may also require the Director of Planning to prepare plans or sketches for carrying out its functions as laid down in the Ordinance. Headed by the Director of Planning, the Planning Department is the executive arm of the Board, which is responsible for formulating, monitoring and reviewing town plans, planning policies and associated programs for the physical development of Hong Kong. It deals with all types of planning at the territorial and district/local levels and provides services to the Board. (For more details of the Planning Department, click here to go to the Planning Department website.)

Under the Town Planning (Amendment) (No.2) Ordinance which came into operation in November 1991, the Town Planning Appeal Board has also been set up to hear all the appeals against the Board's decisions to reject the planning applications upon review.

Composition, Powers and Functions of the Board

For the better discharge of the Board's functions, two Planning Committees, namely, the Metro Planning Committee and the Rural and New Town Planning Committee were set up to facilitate the preparation of statutory plans and consideration of planning applications. Moreover, the Board is empowered to appoint committees, namely the Representation Hearing Committee, from among its Members to hear representations.

Composition, Powers and Functions of the Board

TOWN PLANNING BOARD

Establishment

The Board is a statutory body established under section 2 of the Town Planning Ordinance (the Ordinance), Cap. 131 of the Laws of Hong Kong.

Powers and Functions

The Board's main functions are laid down in section 3 of the Ordinance, i.e. to promote the health, safety, convenience and general welfare of the community through the systematic preparation of plans (that is, Outline Zoning Plans (OZPs) and Development Permission Area (DPA) Plans) for the layout of such areas of Hong Kong as the Chief Executive may direct, as well as the types of buildings suitable for erection therein. The Board considers representations to these plans, comments on representations and further representations under sections 6 and 6A to 6H of the Ordinance; and submits draft plans together with any representations, comments on representations, further representations and any amendments made to meet the representations/further representations to the Chief Executive in Council under section 8 of the Ordinance for a final decision. It also considers applications under sections 12A, 16 and 16A, and conducts reviews of its decisions on sections 16 and 16A applications under section 17 of the Ordinance.

In addition, under section 25 of the Urban Renewal Authority (URA) Ordinance, Cap. 563 of the Laws of Hong Kong, the URA may submit any plan prepared under subsection (3)(a) of the URA Ordinance to the Board for consideration. Upon the submission of a plan so prepared by the URA, the Board may (a) deem the plan as being suitable for publication; (b) deem the plan as being suitable for publication subject to such amendments as the Board shall specify; or (c) refuse to deem the plan as being suitable for publication. A plan which the Board deems suitable for publication under subsection (6) (a) or (c) of the URA Ordinance shall be deemed to be a draft plan prepared by the Board for the purposes of the Ordinance and the provisions of the Ordinance shall apply accordingly. 

Membership

The Board consists of the Chairman [currently the Permanent Secretary for Development (Planning and Lands)], the Vice-chairman, five other official Members [currently the Director of Planning, the Deputy Secretary for Transport and Housing (Transport)1, the Director of Home Affairs, the Director of Environmental Protection and the Director of Lands, or their alternates] and 31 non-official Members. The Deputy Director of Planning/District was appointed as the Secretary to the Board.

All Members of the Board are appointed by the Chief Executive under section 2(1) of the Ordinance and each appointment is announced in the Hong Kong Government Gazette. The tenure of appointment is usually for a period of one to two years. The non-official Members represent a wide range of professions, expertise and community interests. Membership

Meetings

The Board meets regularly to discharge its functions, normally on alternate Fridays of each month.

PLANNING COMMITTEES

Introduction

With the enactment of the Town Planning (Amendment) Ordinance 1991 which extended statutory planning to the non-urban areas and the general increase in the workload of the Board, two Planning Committees were set up, namely the Metro Planning Committee (MPC) and the Rural and New Town Planning Committee (RNTPC). The geographical jurisdiction of the MPC and RNTPC.

Composition

Each Committee comprises the Chairperson (currently the Director of Planning), the Vice-chairman (a non-official Member), four other official Members (currently the Deputy Secretary for Transport and Housing (Transport)1, the Director of Home Affairs, the Director of Environmental Protection, and the Director of Lands, or their alternates) and 15 (MPC) / 14 (RNTPC) other non-official Members. The Deputy Director of Planning/District was appointed as Secretary to the two Committees.

All Members of the Committees are appointed by the Chief Executive from the Members of the Board in accordance with section 2(3) of the Ordinance. Membership of MPC and RNTPC.

Powers and Functions

The powers and functions delegated to the two Committees by the Board under section 2(5)(a) of the Ordinance are :-

  • Systematic preparation of new draft Outline Zoning Plans and draft Development Permission Area Plans under section 3 and section 4(1) of the Ordinance.

  • Consideration and approval of Master Layout Plans and subsequent amendments in Comprehensive Development Areas under section 4A of the Ordinance.

  • Exhibition of new draft plans pursuant to section 5 of the Ordinance.

  • Making and exhibition of amendments to draft plans under sections 7(1)-(3) of the Ordinance.

  • Submission of draft plans to the Chief Executive in Council under section 8 of the Ordinance for approval.

  • Pursuant to sections 12(1)(b)(ii) and 12(3) of the Ordinance, making and exhibition of amendments to plans referred back by the Chief Executive in Council under section 12(1)(b).

  • Consideration of applications for amendment of plan, planning permission and amendment to permission under sections 12A, 16 and 16A of the Ordinance respectively.

  • Designation of Development Permission Areas under section 20(1) of the Ordinance.

Meetings

The two Committees meet regularly to discharge their functions, usually on the other Fridays of each month when there is no meeting of the Board.

REPRESENTATION HEARING COMMITTEE

The Board is required to complete consideration of representations/further representations and submission of draft plans to the Chief Executive in Council within a statutory time limit of nine months. There is a provision to extend the time limit to a maximum additional period of six months by the Chief Executive. In order to expedite the representation consideration process, the Board is empowered to appoint committees from amongst its Members to hear representations/comments on representations/further representations.

The Representation Hearing Committee (RHC) is appointed on a plan by plan basis. The Board will decide whether a RHC should be appointed to hear the representations. For representations which are of significant territorial interests or would attract wide public interests, the Board may decide to conduct the hearing itself.

Membership of RHCs is normally appointed by roster. However, Members with expert knowledge relevant to the representation cases may also be appointed. Each RHC consists of a Chairperson (currently the Director of Planning), a Deputy Chairperson (a non-official Member), two official Members and five non-official Members.

Town Planning Board Planning Committees Representation Hearing Committees

關於我們


  • 簡介

香港的規劃制度

在香港,城市規劃是一項引導和管制土地發展及用途的工作,目的是促進社區的衞生、安全、便利及一般福利,並且為市民締造一個組織更完善、效率更高和更稱心的居住和工作環境。

城市規劃委員會(下稱「城規會」) 是根據城市規劃條例第2條成立的法定組織,旨在透過有系統地擬備行政長官所指示的香港某些地區的布局設計及適宜在該等地區內建立的建築物類型的圖則,以促進社區的衞生、安全、便利及一般福利。

按照城市規劃規例的規定,城規會可規定規劃署署長擬備圖則或簡圖,以便執行條例所訂明的職能。規劃署是城規會的執行機構,由規劃署署長掌管,負責制訂、監管及檢討規劃圖則、規劃政策和與建設實體環境有關的計劃,並處理全港及地區兩個不同層面有關規劃的一切事宜,同時亦為城規會提供服務。 (如欲省覽規劃署的詳細資料, 請在此處按一下 )

城規會的結構、權力及職能

為求更有效履行城規會的職能,城規會成立了兩個規劃小組委員會 (即都會規劃小組委員會和鄉郊及新市鎮規劃小組委員會) 以便進行擬備法定圖則及考慮規劃申請的工作。此外,城規會獲授權力,可委出由其成員組成的委員會,即聆訊申述小組委員會,聆訊申述個案。

城規會的結構、權力及職能

城市規劃委員會

城市規劃委員會的成立

城規會是根據香港法例第131章城市規劃條例(下稱「條例」) 第2條成立的法定組織。

權力及職能

城規會的主要職能由條例第3條規定,即透過有系統地擬備行政長官所指示的香港某些地區的布局設計及適宜在該等地區內建立的建築物類型的圖則(即分區計劃大綱圖及發展審批地區圖),以促進社區的衞生、安全、便 利及一般福利。城規會根據條例第6條及第6A至6H的規定,考慮就該等圖則提出的申述,對申述的意見及進一步申述,然後根據條例第8條的規定,將草圖連同申述,對申述的意見、進一步申述及因應申述/進一步申述作出的修訂,一併呈交行政長官會同行政會議,以便作出最終決定;城規會亦考慮根據第12A條、第16條及第16A條提出的申請,並覆核其對第16條及第16A條申請作出的決定。

此外,根據香港法例第563章市區重建局條例第25條的規定,市建局可將根據第(3)(a)款擬備的圖則呈交城規會供其考慮。在有任何根據該款擬備的圖則呈交城規會時,城規會可(a)認為該圖則適宜公布;(b)認為該圖則在作出城規會所指明的修訂後適宜公布;或 (c)拒絕認為該圖則適宜公布。城規會根據第(6)(a)或(b)款認為適宜公布的圖則,須當作是由城規會為施行城市規劃條例而擬備的草圖,城市規劃條例的條文亦據此適用。

成員

城規會設有主席[現為發展局常任秘書長(規劃及地政)],副主席、5名官方成員[現為規劃署署長、運輸及物流局副秘書長(運輸及物流)1、民政事務總署署長、環境保護署署長及地政總署署長或他們的代替成員],以及23名非官方成員。城規會的秘書是規劃署副署長/地區。

城規會全體成員皆由行政長官根據條例第2(1)條委任,並在香港政府憲報公布。任期通常為期一至兩年。非官方成員分別來自社會各個專業與階層。 成員名單

會議

城規會定期開會以執行其職能;會議通常在每個月的每隔一個星期五召開。

規劃小組委員會

簡介

自1991年城市規劃(修訂)條例實施後,法定規劃工作已擴展到市區以外地區。為應付整體工作量的增加,城規會成立了兩個規劃小組委員會,即都會規劃小組委員會和鄉郊及新市鎮規劃小組委員會。 都會規劃小組委員會和鄉郊及新市鎮規劃小組委員會分別管轄的範圍

結構

每個小組委員會設有主席(現時為規劃署署長)、副主席(一名非官方成員)、4名官方成員[現時為運輸及物流局副秘書長(運輸及物流)1、民政事務總署署長、環境保護署署長及地政總署署長或他們的代替成員],以及11名(都會規劃小組委員會)/10名(鄉郊及新市鎮規劃小組委會)非官方成員。規劃署副署長/地區擔任兩個小組委員會的秘書。

兩個小組委員會的全部成員皆由行政長官根據城市規劃條例(下稱「 條例」)第2(3)條的規定,從城規會的成員當中委出。 都會規劃小組委員會鄉郊及新市鎮規劃小組委員會的成員名單

權力及職能

城規會根據條例第2(5)(a)條的規定轉授予兩個小組委員會的權力和職能如下:

  • 根據條例第3條及第4(1)條的規定,有系統地擬備新的分區計劃大綱草圖及發展審批地區草圖。
  • 根據條例第4A條的規定,考慮及核准綜合發展區的總綱發展藍圖及其後所作的修訂。
  • 依據條例第5條的規定展示新草圖。
  • 根據條例第7(1)至(3)條的規定,對草圖作出修訂及展示所作的修訂。
  • 根據條例第8條的規定,向行政長官會同行政會議呈交草圖,以作核准。
  • 依據條例第12(1)(b)(ii)條及第12(3)條的規定,對 由行政長官會同行政會議根據條例第12(1)(b)條的規定發還的圖則,予以擬備和展示。
  • 根據條例第12A條、第16條及第16A條的規定,考慮有關修訂圖則、規劃許可及修訂許可的申請。
  • 根據條例第20(1)條的規定,指定發展審批地區。

會議

兩個小組委員會定期開會以執行其職能,會議通常每隔一個星期在城規會不開會時的星期五舉行。

聆聽申述小組委員會

城規會須在9個月的法定時限內對申述/進一步申述個案作出考慮及向行政長官會同行政會議提交草圖。不過,行政長官最多可把上述時限延長多6個月。為加快考慮反對個案的過程,城規會可從其成員中委出小組委員會,聆訊申述/對申述的意見/進一步申述。

城規會會因應需要,就個別草圖委出聆訊申述小組委員會。城規會會決定應否委出一個聆訊申述小組委員會,聆訊申述個案。不過,若申述個案涉及全港市民的重大利益,或可能會廣泛引起公眾注意,城規會或會決定親自進行聆訊。

聆訊申述小組委員會的成員通常由城規會成員輪流出任。然而,擁有與申述個案有關的專門知識的成員亦可能會獲委任。每個聆訊申述小組委員會的成員包括1位主席(目前為規劃署署長)、1位副主席(非官方成員)、兩名官方成員及5名非官方成員。

城市規劃委員會 規劃小組委員會 聆聽申述小組委員會