Go to main content
Appointments to industry advisory committees to advise Insurance Authority
     The Government announced today (May 31) the appointments to two industry advisory committees (IACs) to advise the Insurance Authority (IA) on industry-related issues.

     The two IACs focus on long-term business and general business respectively. The Financial Secretary has reappointed or appointed 11 non-official members to each of the IACs for a term of two years from June 1, 2024, to May 31, 2026.
     A spokesman for the Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau said, "Members of the two IACs are experienced practitioners in the insurance industry and related sectors such as actuary, fintech, banking, legal and academia. Their diverse expertise will assist the IA in promoting the stable development of the insurance industry and protecting policy holders.
     "We would like to express our sincere gratitude to the four outgoing members for their support and contributions to the IACs during their tenure."
     The IACs are statutory committees established under the Insurance Ordinance (Cap. 41) (the Ordinance) on June 1, 2016.  The Ordinance stipulates that other than the chairperson, chief executive officer and not more than two other executive directors of the IA, members of an IAC should include eight to 12 other persons with knowledge of or experience in the insurance industry, the conduct of regulated activities and consumer affairs. They are appointed by the Financial Secretary after consultation with the IA.

     Following is the list of non-official members of the IACs with effect from June 1, 2024:
Non-official members of the IAC on Long Term Business
Ms Annie Chen Poonis
Mr Alex Chu Wing-yiu
Mr Peter James Crewe
Mr Dick Fong Ho-cheung
Mr Nigel Knowles
Ms Joanie Ko Chung-ling
Ms Lisa Lau Man-man
Ms Selina Lau Pui-ling
Ms Orchis Li Tzy-lan
Mr Bill Song Xuanbi
Mr Wilson Tang Chee-ping
Non-official members of the IAC on General Business
Mr Rohan Bhappu
Mr Jonathan Chen Zhaonan
Mr Cheong Heng-loong
Dr Fung Hong
Ms Polly Ho Kin-wing
Mr Jia Jingwei
Dr Kevin Lau Chung-hang
Mr George Leung Woon-wing
Mr Jimmy Poon Wing-fai
Professor Tang Heiwai
Ms Sally Wan Yuen-wai
Ends/Friday, May 31, 2024
Issued at HKT 12:00
Today's Press Releases