Go to main content
LegCo delegation to conduct duty visit to Malaysia, Indonesia and Singapore
The following is issued on behalf of the Legislative Council Secretariat:
     The President of the Legislative Council (LegCo), Mr Andrew Leung, will lead seven members of the Parliamentary Liaison Subcommittee (the Subcommittee) to conduct a seven-day duty visit to Malaysia, Indonesia and Singapore on Sunday (May 12).
     Malaysia, Indonesia and Singapore, being members of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), are very important trading partners of Hong Kong. Apart from meeting with local Speakers and Members of Parliaments, the LegCo delegation will also take the opportunity to exchange views with the relevant government departments and organisations. The objectives are to strengthen liaison with them and gain a better understanding of the latest development of these countries in respect of their political systems, economic and tourism development, innovation and technology, nurturing of emerging industries, etc.
     During the visit from May 12 to 18, the delegation will meet and exchange views with the Chinese Ambassadors to ASEAN, representatives of other ASEAN countries, Chinese Ambassadors to Malaysia, Indonesia and Singapore, and local Hong Kong businessmen and communities.
     The delegation will also visit the following places and organisations:
  • Ministry of Tourism, Arts and Culture
  • Hong Kong-Malaysia Business Association
  • Parliament of Malaysia
  • Ministry of Investment, Trade and Industry
  • Associated Chinese Chambers of Commerce and Industry of Malaysia
  • National Chamber of Commerce and Industry of Malaysia
  • Malaysia Digital Economy Corporation

  • Jakarta-Bandung High-Speed Railway
  • Parliament of Indonesia
  • Indonesian Chamber of Commerce in Hong Kong
  • Indonesian Chamber of Commerce and Industry

  • Parliament of Singapore
  • JTC Corporation
  • Housing & Development Board
  • Hong Kong Singapore Business Association
  • Institute of Technical Education

     The delegation is led by the President of the LegCo, Mr Andrew Leung. Deputy delegation leader is the Chairman of the Subcommittee, Mr Tommy Cheung. Other participating Subcommittee members are Mr Jeffrey Lam, Ms Nixie Lam, Ms Joephy Chan, Mr Tang Fei, Ms Carmen Kan and Mr Yim Kong.
Ends/Friday, May 10, 2024
Issued at HKT 18:30
Today's Press Releases