Go to main content
Appointments to Quality Education Fund Steering Committee announced
     The Government today (January 15) announced the appointment of Mr Dieter Yih Lai-tak as the Chairman of the Quality Education Fund Steering Committee (QEFSC), as well as the appointment of four new members and the reappointment of one incumbent member for a term of two years with effect from January 16, 2024.

     The four newly appointed members are Dr Susan Fan Yun-sun, Ms Lee Yi-ying, Mr James Li Tsz-shu and Ms Wong Yuk-hing. The incumbent member reappointed is Mr Shek Wai-keung.

     The Secretary for Education, Dr Choi Yuk-lin, welcomed the appointments. She said, "Mr Yih has been actively participating in education affairs. He is currently a member of the University Grants Committee, and was a former member of the Education Commission. I am confident that under Mr Yih's leadership and with members' professional knowledge and experience, the QEFSC will continue to provide valuable advice to the Government in relation to optimising the use of the Quality Education Fund (QEF) for promoting quality education in Hong Kong, benefitting more students, parents, teachers and school administrative personnel."

     Dr Choi expressed her heartfelt gratitude to the outgoing Chairman, Dr Gordon Tsui Luen-on. She said, "Dr Tsui has dedicated himself to the development of the QEF and made remarkable contributions over the past years. Under his chairmanship, the QEF has achieved significant progress in supporting innovative education projects and raising the quality of education in Hong Kong."

     Dr Choi also thanked the outgoing members, Mr Stanley Choi Tak-shing, Ms Joanne Fong Yee-man and Mr Lau Chun-hung, for their valuable contributions to and support for the QEFSC in the past years.

     The QEF was established in 1998 with $5 billion in capital from the Government to fund innovative projects that promote quality education in Hong Kong. The QEFSC advises on the policies and operation of the QEF, and makes recommendations to the QEF Trustee on the funding applications.

     Since its establishment, the QEF has supported about 13 900 projects with total funding amounting to about $6.9 billion.

     The membership list of the QEFSC with effect from January 16, 2024, is as follows:
Mr Dieter Yih Lai-tak
Appointed members
Ms Rita Chan Yin-nei
Dr Susan Fan Yun-sun #
Dr Daphne Ho Kin-yi
Ms Eva Charisa Hsu
Ms Lee Yi-ying #
Dr Promail Leung Kin-yi
Ms Angela Leung Wai-tuen
Mr David Leung Yiu-fai
Mr James Li Tsz-shu #
Mr Benjamin Ng Yau-keung
Mr Pang Chor-fu
Mr Shek Wai-keung
Dr Winnie Tang Shuk-ming
Mr Addy Wong Wai-hung
Ms Wong Yuk-hing #
Mr Yeung Sai-man
Ex-officio member
Deputy Secretary for Education (5)
# New appointee
Ends/Monday, January 15, 2024
Issued at HKT 12:22
Today's Press Releases