Go to main content
Appointments to Rehabilitation Advisory Committee announced
     The Government announced today (December 29) the reappointment of the Chairman, the Vice-chairman and seven incumbent members as well as the appointment of 14 new members to the Rehabilitation Advisory Committee (RAC) for a term of two years with effect from January 1, 2024.

     The 14 new members are Mr Arthur Cheung Man-to, Dr Freddy Lam Man-hin, Mr Lam Yiu-kwok, Ms Leung Tsui-han, Ms Reginia Leung Wun-kam, Professor Ming Wai-kit, Mr Alvin Miu, Mr So Wing-tung, Mr Eddie Suen Kwok-tung, Mr Sze Yan-kit, Professor Frances Wong Kam-yuet, Dr Ryan Wong Man-yeung, Mr Wong Yu-tung and Ms Julia Yan Yuming. Their brief biographical notes are set out in the Annex.

     The seven reappointed members are Mr Thomas Chu Sai-ming, Miss Jody Kwok Fu-yung, Dr Lui Wai-cheung, Ms Ada Ng Ka-lai, Ms Mandy Tang Hoi-man, Mr Nelson Yip Siu-hong and Mr Emil Yu Chen-on.

     The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Mr Chris Sun, welcomed the appointments. He said, "The RAC has been playing an important role in advising the Government on the development of Hong Kong's rehabilitation services. The Chief Executive set out in the 2023 Policy Address the increase in the number of representatives of persons with disabilities and carers in the RAC. We have completed the review of the composition of the RAC, and the number of representatives of persons with disabilities and their carers in the new term will be increased to nine to better gauge their needs. I look forward to members' valuable advice on rehabilitation services, with a view to strengthening support for persons with disabilities and building a caring and inclusive community."

     In addition, Mr Sun thanked the outgoing members, Mr Cheng Ka-ho, Mr Fong Cheung-fat, Ms Heidi Hui Sim-kiu, Dr Joseph Kwan Kwok-lok, Mr Billy Man Shu-shing, Ms Shirley To Shuk-yi, Dr Janice Tsang Wing-hang, Ms Wendy Tse Yik-chu, Mr Walter Tsui Yu-hang, Ms Elaine Wu Siu-ling and Dr Loretta Yam Yin-chun, for their valuable contributions to the RAC during their tenure.

     The RAC was set up in 1977 as the principal advisory body of the Government on matters pertaining to the well-being of persons with disabilities as well as the development and implementation of rehabilitation policies and services. The RAC also assists the Government in promoting and monitoring the implementation of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities in Hong Kong.

     The membership list of the RAC from January 1, 2024, is as follows:

Mr Fung Pak-yan

Dr Kevin Lau Kin-wah

Non-official Members
Mr Arthur Cheung Man-to
Mr Thomas Chu Sai-ming
Miss Jody Kwok Fu-yung
Mr Raymond Lai Kwan-ho
Dr Freddy Lam Man-hin*
Mr Edwin Lam Man-wing
Mr Lam Yiu-kwok
Ms Lee Po-chun
Ms Leung Tsui-han
Ms Reginia Leung Wun-kam
Ms Perina Li Siu-fan
Ms Jennifer Liu Wai-fun
Dr William Lo Tak-lam
Dr Lui Wai-cheung
Professor Ming Wai-kit
Mr Alvin Miu
Ms Ada Ng Ka-lai
Mr So Wing-tung*
Mr Eddie Suen Kwok-tung
Mr Sze Yan-kit
Ms Mandy Tang Hoi-man
Professor Frances Wong Kam-yuet
Dr Ryan Wong Man-yeung
Mr Wong Yu-tung
Ms Julia Yan Yuming
Ms Yang Elizabeth Ling
Mr Nelson Yip Siu-hong
Mr Emil Yu Chen-on

* Appointed through the Member Self-recommendation Scheme for Youth.
Ends/Friday, December 29, 2023
Issued at HKT 11:30
Today's Press Releases