Go to main content
Appointments to new term of Trade and Industry Advisory Board
     The Government announced today (December 29) the membership of the Trade and Industry Advisory Board (TIAB) in the new term for two years from January 1, 2024, to December 31, 2025.
     The 15 new members appointed are Mr Calvin Chan Ka-wai, Mr Kenneth Chan Kin-nin, Mr Steve Chuang Tzu-hsiung, Mr Michael Hui Wah-kit, Mr Andrew Kwok Chi-wah, Mr Michael Lai Cheuk-pun, Mr Ian Lee-eon, Dr Wingco Lo Kam-wing, Mr Augustus Tang Kin-wing, Mr Andrew Yao Cho-fai, Ms Karmen Yeung Ka-yin, Mr Gary Yeung Man-yui and Ms Elsa Yuen May-yee, as well as Mr Chan Chuen-wai and Mr Chester Szeen Pok-yung recruited under the Member Self-recommendation Scheme for Youth. Meanwhile, 13 incumbent members are reappointed.
     The Acting Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development (SCED), Dr Bernard Chan, thanked the 28 members for accepting the appointments. He said, "The TIAB serves an important function of advising the Government on promoting the development of Hong Kong's trade and industry, in particular on matters concerning how Hong Kong can leverage the opportunities of the Belt and Road Initiative and the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area development, and how to cope with the changes in the economic situation. With the experience and expertise of members in their respective sectors, I am confident that they will provide valuable advice and strong support on promoting our work."
     He thanked the 13 outgoing members, namely Dr Sunny Chai Ngai-chiu, Miss Mabel Chan Mei-bo, Mr Calvin Chau, Dr Stephen Kwok Chun-pong, Mr Victor Lam Hoi-cheung, Mr Lau Chun-kong, Mr Steve Leung Chi-tien, Mr Frank Leung Yat-cheong, Mr Raymond Mak Ka-chun, Dr Allen Shi Lop-tak, Ms Connie Wong Wai-ching, Dr Kennedy Wong Ying-ho and Dr Eric Yip Chee-hang for their support and contributions to the work of the TIAB.
     The TIAB advises the SCED on matters affecting Hong Kong's trade and industry, including trade in textiles and garments, trade relations with the Mainland, the Belt and Road Initiative, the development plan for the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area and the Mainland and Hong Kong Closer Economic Partnership Arrangement and related matters.
     The 2024-25 membership list of the TIAB is as follows:
Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development
Non-official members
Mr Chan Chak-ming
Mr Chan Chuen-wai
Mr Calvin Chan Ka-wai
Mr Kenneth Chan Kin-nin
Ms Jennifer Chan Pui-kwan
Mr Ivan Chu Kwok-leung
Mr Steve Chuang Tzu-hsiung
Mr Michael Hui Wah-kit
Ms Miranda Kwan Ching-yi
Mr Andrew Kwok Chi-wah
Mr Michael Lai Cheuk-pun
Dr Peter Lam Kin-ngok
Mr Ian Lee-eon
Mr Willy Lin Sun-mo
Dr Wingco Lo Kam-wing
Dr Dennis Ng Wang-pun
Mr Shiu Ka-fai
Mr William Shum Wai-lam
Mr Chester Szeen Pok-yung
Mr Sunny Tan
Mr Augustus Tang Kin-wing
Dr Conrad Wong Tin-cheung
Mr Harold Wong Tsu-hing
Mr Andrew Yao Cho-fai
Ms Karmen Yeung Ka-yin
Mr Gary Yeung Man-yui
Dr Yim Fung
Ms Elsa Yuen May-yee
Ex-officio members
Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs (or representative)
Permanent Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development (or representative)
Director-General of Trade and Industry (or representative)
Director-General of Investment Promotion (or representative)
Executive Director of the Hong Kong Trade Development Council (or representative)
Ends/Friday, December 29, 2023
Issued at HKT 11:00
Today's Press Releases