Go to main content
Lists of appointed members and ex officio members of District Councils announced
     The Government announced today (December 12) that the Chief Executive has, in accordance with the District Councils Ordinance, appointed 179 persons as members of the seventh-term District Councils (DCs) (2024-27) for a term of office of four years starting from January 1, 2024.
     The registration of 27 incumbent Chairmen of Rural Committees as ex officio members has also been confirmed as valid in accordance with the District Councils Ordinance.
     To fully implement the principle of "patriots administering Hong Kong" and bring the DCs back on track to fulfil their mission to serve the community, the Government has improved governance at the district level and reformed the DCs. The reformed DCs are more broadly represented, comprising appointed members, members returned from the District Committees constituency and District Council geographical constituency elections, and ex officio members, allowing those who love the country and Hong Kong and are committed to serving the community to participate in the work of DCs through multiple channels.
     A Government spokesman said, "Under the principle of meritocracy, the Government has appointed 179 persons of high calibre who love our country and Hong Kong to serve as appointed members of the seventh-term DCs having regard to the situations and development needs of individual districts and factors such as community representativeness and ties with local communities. All the 179 appointed members who are dedicated to serving the community will enhance the advisory and service functions of DCs."
     The majority of the newly appointed members are young to middle-aged, representing different social strata, sectors and professions, and achieving a balanced and diverse composition in the DCs for the coming term -

     In terms of age, the median age is 47, with about 81 per cent aged between 40 and 64, and about 15 per cent are young people aged below 40. The youngest is 23 years old;
     In terms of sectors, they are representatives or members of the industrial and commercial, professional, grassroots and labour sectors, district organisations and etc;
     In terms of professions, school principals and teachers, lawyers, healthcare practitioners, social workers, engineering surveyors, accountants, and practitioners in insurance and financial services are covered; and
     In districts where there are bigger ethnic-minority communities, representatives of ethnic minorities are appointed to assist the Government in liaising with ethnic minorities and delivering services to them.
     The spokesman added, "The District Council Eligibility Review Committee has reviewed and confirmed the eligibility of all appointed members, and the eligibility of Chairmen of the Rural Committees for registration as ex officio members, including their compliance with the legal requirements of upholding the Basic Law of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region and bearing allegiance to the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region."

     The appointments will be published in the Gazette on December 14, 2023. The list of appointed members (in alphabetical order of names) is as follows:
Central and Western District
Dr Chan Kin-keung, Eugene
Mr Ip Yik-nam
Ms Jin Ling
Mr Lui Hung-pan
Mr Ng Yin
Mr Qiu Songqing
Mr Yip Wing-shing
Mr Young Chit-on, Jeremy
Eastern District
Ms Chan Hang
Mr Chau Chi-Yan, Benny
Mr Cheng Chi-sing
Ms Ho Sau-yin, Zareenah
Mr Hung Lin-cham
Dr Kwok Ho-king, Calvin
Mr Lam Sum-lim
Mr Lau Hing-yeung
Ms Li Lee
Mr Liang Li
Mr Lu Xiaofeng, Anthony
Mr Ting Wong, Kacee
Southern District
Mr Chan Man-chun
Professor Chan Yuk-kit
Mr Chu Lap-wai
Ms Ho Ivy Yuen-wei
Ms Lam Yuk-chun
Ms Li Ka-ying
Mr Pang Siu-kei
Mr Yeung Sheung-chun
Wan Chai District
Dr Chow Kam-wai
Mr Lam Wai-kong
Ms Lau Pui-shan
Mr Sun Tao-hung
Kowloon City District
Mr Cho Wui-hung
Mr He Huahan
Mr Lai Yin-chung
Mr Lam Tak-shing
Mr Pun Kwok-wah
Dr Rizwan Ullah
Mr Wong Man-kong
Ms Wong Man-lei, Vivian
Yau Tsim Mong District
Ms Au Chor-kwan
Mr Chan Siu-tong
Mr Chung Chak-fai
Mr Chung Kong-mo
Ms Aruna Gurung
Mr Hui Tak-leung
Ms Wong Shu-ming
Mr Yeung Tsz-hei
Sham Shui Po District
Mr Chan Wai-ming
Ms Chung Ching-may
Ms Kwok Yin-lai
Mr Lam Ka-fai, Aaron
Ms Lau Pui-yuk
Mr Lee Wing-man
Mr Lo Chi-chiu
Dr Wong Chung-leung
Wong Tai Sin District
Mr Hung Chor-ying, Edmond
Ms Lau Yuen-yee, Janus
Mr Leung Tang-fung
Mr Dennis Li
Mr Ngai Shi-shing, Godfrey
Ms Tang Man-wai
Mr Yau Yiu-shing
Ms Yew Yat-wa, Deannie
Kwun Tong District
Mr Chan Yiu-hung, Jimmy
Mr Cheung Ki-tang
Ms Chu Lok-wai
Mr Hsu Yau-wai
Mr Hung Kam-in
Mr Lai Wing-chun
Mr Lam Wai
Mr Lau Kar-wah
Ms Leung Sze-wan
Mr Lin Ho-man
Mr Lui Tung-hai
Mr Ng Sing-wah
Mr Wong Chun-ping
Ms Juliana Yu
Mr Yu Man
Mr Yu Siu-lun
Tai Po District
Mr Chan Cho-leung
Mr Chan Pok-chi
Mr Chan Tsz-kin
Mr Chan Yung-wa
Mr Lee Hon-cheung
Ms Lee Sai-yin, Jeanne
Mr Mui Ching-hung
Mr Wan Koon-kau
Yuen Long District
Mr Cham Ka-hung, Daniel
Mr Chan Ka-fai
Mr Cheung Wai-sum
Ms Chiu Sau-han
Mr Chong Kin-shing
Mr Fung Chun-wing
Mr Lam Tim-fook
Mr Lui Kin
Mr Man Ka-ho, Donald
Mr Shum Ho-kit
Mr Tam Tak-hoi
Mr Wong Hiu-shan
Mr Wong Wai-leung
Ms Wong Wai-ling
Mr Wong Wing-ho, Allan
Mr Yu Chung-leung
Tuen Mun District
Mr Chan Ho-ting, Mac
Mr Chan Kwai-wao
Ms Chan Mang-yi, Vincci
Mr Chan Yau-hoi
Mr Cheng Yin-kwan, Andy
Mr Fung Yuk-fung
Mr Ho Jun-hang, Benton
Ms Mak Mei-yee, Pamela
Mr Mo Shing-fung
Mr Tsang Hing-chung
Mr Tse Wing-hang
Mr Wan Tin-chong
Mr Yip Kat-kong, Kenneth
North District
Ms Chow Tin-yi, Zinnie
Mr Chu Ho-yin
Mr Chu Wai-lam
Mr Hung Chi-fu, Tommy
Mr Lai Sum
Mr Liu Yu-hin
Mr Tam Chun-kwok
Mr Wan Wo-fai
Sai Kung District
Mr Chan Kuen-kwan
Mr Cheung Man-tim
Ms Chong Nga-ting
Mr Chong Yuen-tung
Ms Ki Lai-mei
Mr Lam Chun-ka
Ms Li Ka-yan
Mr Wang Wen
Mr Wong Wang-to
Ms Wu Suet-lin
Mr Yau Siu-hung
Ms Natasha Yu
Sha Tin District
Mr Au Chi-on, Paul
Ms Chan Man-kuen
Ms Chan Sin-ming
Mr Cheng Ka-ho
Mr Deng Kairong
Ms Lam Chung-yan
Dr Lam Kong-kwan
Mr Leung Ka-fai
Mr Liu Tsz-chung, Michael
Ms Pong Scarlett Oi-lan
Mr Pun Kwok-shan
Mr Tsoi Ming-yang
Ms Tung Kin-lei
Mr Wong King
Ms Wong Po-yee
Mr Wong Wai-shing
Mr Wong Yue-hon
Tsuen Wan District
Mr Chan Hiu-chun
Ms Chan Shun-shun
Ms Cheung Man-ka
Mr Koo Yeung-pong
Dr Leung Cheong-ming, Raymond
Ms Wah Mei-ling
Ms Wong Shuk-fan, Luparker
Mr Wong Wai-kit
Kwai Tsing District
Mr Au Chi-fai
Ms Chan Oi-yi
Ms Cheng Lam
Mr Chow Kim-ho
Ms Chu Lai-ling
Ms Lam Chui-ling, Nancy
Ms Lau Mei-lo
Ms Leung Kar-ming
Mr Poon Chi-shing
Mr So Pak-tsan
Mr Tsui Hiu-kit
Ms Wang Chung-wing
Mr Yip Cheung-chun
Islands District
Mr Hui Chun-lung
Ms Lau Suk-han
Mr Ng Choi-wah
Mr Yu Hon-kwan
     The list of validly registered persons will be published in the Gazette on December 14, 2023. The list of ex officio members (in alphabetical order of names) is as follows:
Tai Po District
Mr Lam Yick-kuen
Mr Li Yiu-ban
Yuen Long District
Mr Ching Chan-ming
Mr Kwok Wing-cheong
Mr Man Luk-sing
Mr Tang Che-keung
Mr Tang Ho-nin
Mr Tang Sin-hang
Tuen Mun District
Mr Lau Ip-keung, Kenneth
North District
Mr Chan Yuet-ming
Mr Hau Chi-keung
Mr Lee Koon-hung
Mr Li Kwok-fung
Sai Kung District
Mr Lau Kai-hong
Mr Wong Shui-sang
Sha Tin District
Mr Mok Kam-kwai
Tsuen Wan District
Mr Chan Sung-ip
Mr Yau Kam-ping
Kwai Tsing District
Mr Chan Chi-wing
Islands District
Mr Chow Yuk-tong
Mr Ho Chun-fai
Mr Ho Siu-kei
Mr Ng Man-kit
Mr Wan Yeung-kin
Ms Wong Chau-ping
Mr Wong Hon-kuen, Ken
Mr Wong Man-hon
Ends/Tuesday, December 12, 2023
Issued at HKT 15:12
Today's Press Releases